Taking a break

My Saturday morning didn’t start very well.  My computer didn’t work as expected as it erased my wifi connection when they cleaned my system yesterday.  It took about a couple of hours and three ITs before someone from our HelpDesk was able to correct the problem.  If this is a prediction of how my Monday at work would start, I better pray not.

By the time it was finished I just totally lost my initiave to unpack some more.  I called Auntie Claire to complain how expensive Brookhaven has become.  That used to be the grocery store Mom and I frequented but I think I have gotten so used to the huge Korean stores (Assi and H Mart) and produce stores (Jerry’s and Tony’s) in Niles where things are sold at way so much cheaper, fresher and more variety.

Now that I have time I would like to go back to cooking.  Mom has always trained all of us girls to cook so I’ve never been a tv dinner person or one to order take outs.  For convenience the other day I picked up a menudo at the Filipino store – it was $6.50 for a half pint which I don’t mind because I haven’t been very successful in cooking it and if I have to buy all the ingredients the cost would balloon five times and I would have one big pot of the dish, I would never be able to finish it.

I made a very decent dish of chicken with cannellini beans and bok choy for dinner. 

My comfort food as a student in Baguio

But I have a longing for some home made tapa.

I suggested we get some skirt steak from Fiesta, a Mexican grocery store in Bolingbrook and then auntie mentioned that she’s never been to Argyle for a long time. Argyle is our second Chinatown but this one is more of a Vietnamese-Chinese enclave.  What she remembered of the place was it was stinky and dirty.  I told her it has changed a lot since then.   I knew my sister prefers meat from there so we decided to pay Argyle a visit so I could pick up some for her and I was already thinking of getting pork hocks for crisy pata.

Traffic was not bad at all even though there is the Air & Water Show today and tomorrow.  In fact we had a brief view of it so we agreed we would plan to see it next year.  It is a perfect day to watch – the temperature is still in the 70s and so sunny.

I picked up 10 orders of siomais which my sister asked and a couple of alugbati.  I got my pork hocks which I have now tenderized to freeze and ready for deep frying anytime, some meat for adobo and pork belly for a later lechon (roast). Some fish too for variety.

I am certainly stocking up for my future lunch bags.

My family have always loved eating well and am grateful that my Mom has trained us to cook so am never going to get hungry but the reverse side of it is I will always have this battle of the bulge.

It might take another month before I make another trip to Argyle.

Image

A street mural in Argyle

Image

At my family’s favorite Vietnamese-Chinese restaurant

Image

We shared an order of mami, siopao filled with pork asado and a dish of lechon

Image

At my sister’s favorite Chinese bakery for siomai

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Day-to-day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a break

  1. bebs1 says:

    Thank you for visiting and liking.

    Like

  2. Katisha says:

    argh..this is my problem..I get hungry after reading your blogs with the food pictures at 11 in the evening, when I should be half-asleep already and not thinking of eating…LOL

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Kat, sorry but I think I deleted your response while I was playing around with my iPhone. I didn’t mean to make you hungry but you and I both love food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

