Slowly settling in

A Multiply refugee

Am a Multiply refugee. I don’t know how many of my virtual, turned real friends, from that social network will set up home here after they announced they will exclusively become an e-commerce site starting December 1st.

It is ironic that seven years ago it took some convincing before I dared bare myself in what they called blog. First of all, I could hardly write to make sense and also by nature I am shy, it takes sometime before I could warm up to strangers. To write something about myself is like taking a part of me to share for public consumption, the idea was simply anathema to me.

To play it safe, because it was around the holidays, I chose to write something dear to everyone’s heart. Food. This was my maiden journal entry logged in on November 15, 2005:

My sister, Marilou, just called wanting to know what I’m preparing for Thanksgiving. By now, I know when my family asks me that question, they have a need to know if their favorites are in the menu. My Mom takes a different tack everyday – “Are you still making that turkey?” like I’m going to change my mind overnight. It’s Thanksgiving, so like most Americans, I would like to have roasted turkey. My idea for this day is a big, round, juicy turkey – already I’m imagining what to do with the leftovers – countless sandwiches, barley soup with turkey, turkey tettrazzini or even minestrone. But both wants bbq ribs – for Thanksgiving? That’s a summer thing! Or is it a Filipino thing? And Marilou has another request – Tiramisu – “para maiba naman” says she. I said “I don’t know” and hang up. Maybe if she buys the whole salmon and the ribs – I might!

Here’s the recipe for that tiramisu she’s requesting, in case you feel like spending a lot of time in the kitchen. My cousin, Mitos (Burgonio) Formoso gave me the recipe and it’s really worth every drop of Marsala in it and forget about the calories, I’ve never had a better one!

The Original Tiramisu*
(Serves 8-10)

5 cups Strong cold espresso coffee
32 Savoiardi (Italian ladyfingers)
10 Egg yolks
10 tbs. Sugar
1 lb. Mascarpone Cheese (500 gms. or 16 ozs)
1-2 tbs. Marsala wine
2 cups Heavy cream
3 tbs. Unsweetened cocoa powder (preferably Dutch-processed)

Pour the cold coffee into a large pie plate, dip 16 of the ladyfingers very quickly into the coffee, and line the bottom of a 12x9x2-inch oval dish with the ladyfingers.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar till frothy, add the mascarpone and Marsala and whisk till well blended and smooth (in a double-boiler). In another bowl, whisk the cream till stiff and fold into the mascarpone mixture till well blended and smooth. Using a large pastry bag (ziploc with a hole in one corner will do), pipe about one-half of the mixture over the ladyfingers. Dip the remaining ladyfingers quickly into the coffee, arrange another layer of ladyfingers over the cheese mixture, and pipe the remaining mixture over the ladyfingers in an attractive design. Cover with plastic wrap and chill at least 6 hours. (The tiramisu can be frozen for up to 2 months.)

When ready to serve, sprinkle the cocoa powder through a fine sieve over the entire surface of the tiramisu. Spoon portions onto individual dessert plates, and serve the dessert with large spoons.

*Recipe from Mitos Formoso. (By James Villas, Food & Wine editor of Town & Country)

Tips: Buy the lady fingers and mascarpone from an Italian store – I found them to be cheaper there.

* * * * *

Like then and now, I didn’t know what I was doing. Instead of taking a picture of my dish, I took one from the internet. But eventually I found my way. As they say, practice makes perfect.

It’s been a productive seven years in Multiply. From following our favorite blogs, we met in person and became good friends – Ai, Loy, Mar, Lynette, Therese, Beth. We exchanged cards during the holidays with Pat, Chichi, Mimi, Chelo, books and other gifts from Dwayne & Aileen, Nini and many more. We were there for each other in critical moments, they prayed for me and my Mom during her ailment and in turn I did the same when they needed someone to talk to. We just didn’t gain a friend or two, we became families.

So really, what a shame that Multiply saw the $$$ signs not realizing that perhaps they have created an immeasurable contribution to peace and friendship all over the world. Who would have thought they would become so big they are morphing into a money making site. Who cares about the world? Am sure that was their noble mission in the beginning, but greed crept in. It is all about $$$.

But life goes on. Am now slowly settling in here and as I learn to beautify my site, learning some new tricks, am beginning to love it. Unlike others, I didn’t shop around for something comparable to Multiply. I think it is time to turn a new page.

If I move to a different house, why would I want something similar to where I left off? I definitely would want something different, better. Good thing I tried it here four years ago but Multiply was there but now that they are leaving us for cash, I am packing my bag before they shut their doors on me.

This is where I am going to stay!

Now, if only I could figure out to move this entry under the tab – “Recipes” that will be great.

This entry was posted in At the Zoo, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

