Labor Day weekend

I haven’t had a long weekend like this. The past 25 years I toiled hard everyday, having a full time and a week-end part-time. The part-time got outsourced which perhaps was heaven’s way of telling me “enough already” and my full-time job now extends our three-day holidays an extra day.

While the extra money from a part-time was good then and am sure it helped in the end, I missed out on a lot of things. There were many events that I let pass like hanging-out with my family, relatives and friends. Before, if the party was not after five pm you could count me out or even if it was, there were many times I was just too tired to even consider it. Now I could enjoy them.

This Labor Day is my first four-day holiday. I spent 2 days at the Greek Fest, Saturday was Lisa’s bridal shower and yesterday I hang out with my aunts and uncles. It was a small group of us at Uncle Greg & Auntie Cely’s house (Lisa’s parents), Lisa, Uncle Sixto & Auntie Sally and Auntie Tessie, Auntie Cely’s sister who came from New York for the shower.

It was an impromptu lunch that extended to dinner although I skipped that part as we ate late. Uncle Sixto brought a dozen for each of us yummy empanadas and cooked pansit. Pansit person that I am, I skipped that one – there were too many comfort food besides. Filipino favorites all – pork barbecue, grilled tilapia, kare-kare, steamed camote tops and okra dipped in bagoong (fish sauce) and vinegar, lumpiang Shanghai and fresh fruits.

Empanadas

They told me it was going to be around 2-3:00 pm so I finished off some left-over beef nilaga while finishing my laundry. At least I was able to do one home chore.

Lisa and I were the last ones to leave at 8:00 pm. As usual Auntie Cely packed for me a generous amount of left-overs to save me from cooking when I come home tired from work. My aunts never fail to spoil me.

I do relish get togethers like this. Hectic but fun, I feel I could use another vacation after this. I couldn’t wait for the next four-day weekend holiday – Thanksgiving Day.

Auntie Tessie

Kare-kare

Pansit

Pork on a stick barbecue – another Pinoy favorite

Nothing beats boiled fresh vegetables dipped in bagoong (fish sauce) with vinegar or squeezed calamansi

Fresh fruits to cleanse the palate

This entry was posted in Family, My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

