Scouting the neighborhood

Our new offices is now in a new building closer to the Theater District.  It is at the corner of Wacker Drive and Randolph Ave.  It is quite a different neighborhood from Willis Tower.

After my morning class in the office I decided to take a brisk walk to the Farmer’s Market.  Back when I worked in the city 5/7, going to the Daley Plaza on market day was pretty regular.  As one could tell I love going to any kind of markets and my Mom always enjoyed the produce I brought home.  She loved that they were very fresh like zucchinis, summer squash, etc.  Together we enjoyed my new finds, looking for ways to best cook them.  Once I brought home some gigantic sweet onions, very sweet corn better eaten raw, new varieties of squash, herbs, plants.  She never failed to delight in the novelty of each new item I discovered.

So today I visited the Daley Plaza.  I have not been there for as long as I have been working in the suburbs.  Disappointingly there were less vendors now.  I am not sure that the late season has something to do with it because Fall brings a lot of bounty, apples, plums, peaches, maple syrups, heirloom tomatoes, corn, etc.  I noticed there were more bakeries represented.  Some novelty soaps.

Going through the Cook County Building

This time I walked through the Cook County building and enjoyed its architecture.  I was glad to see that the flowers are still in bloom despite the fact that we now have a different mayor.  In Chicago, there are colorful plants everywhere.  Thanks to the initiative of the former long-time Mayor Richard Daley and his late wife, Maggie.

There is a wide variety of restaurants and fast food places to try.  I saw a literally hole in the whole where one could order Chinese.  Am curious.  Maybe next time am back in the city.  My favorites, Roti and Pot Belly are close to the office too.  But I had my eye on a sushi place across our building.

Next time . . .

The Daley Plaza

The Daley Plaza Fountain

A Miro sculpture across the street

Brightly colored blooms

Flowers, flowers, everywhere

This entry was posted in 9 to 5. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scouting the neighborhood

  1. arlene1027 says:

    I love your flower shots, they’re so lovely!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I love gardening like you do but I am left now with just taking flowers pics. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

