Sonia

Pink and denim1 by louielouielu
Pink and denim1, a photo by louielouielu on Flickr.

This is a picture of my friend Sonia. We worked together at the Greek school where she was in charge of the alumni events and fund raising.

This is how I remember her. Always happy and full of life. At this picture, she’s had her breast cancer for 12 years and before she left a year later she underwent more chemotherapy. But she was optimistic about it. She never felt sorry for herself and was always full of life. If you looked at her you would never suspect that she was carrying this disease and fighting it.

Like me, she was a cat lover. She also had two cats and everyday we would talk about them.

We had many things in common. She too was very close to her mother and loved her dearly. But everyday was a sunny day for Sonia. I called her in May for an event we were having at the school and she told me she was going to Vietnam but when I called her again, she said she wasn’t able to go but was determined to do it another time.

So it came as a surprise when I heard that she passed away in Greece on the 15th. Am pretty sure she would not go on vacation if she was seriously ill. I don’t know how she passed away, am still trying to know.

If I went to work depressed because of my Mother’s ailment, she would give me a big hug and give me a pep talk, to encourage me and help me deal with things. Despite her own sickness, she was always there ready to listen and share. Oh I will miss her.

Tonight I spent a great deal of time looking for some pictures of her to send to her family. I was told they are making a collage of her.

I will certainly miss her. We planned on meeting for dinner but I was the one who never got around to it.

Just when we think we have plenty of time left to do things with people we treasure, before we know it, they are gone.

Life and time are indeed very precious.

Sonia Arvanitis with Ka. Jenny on her name day which is also my birthday

Sonia brought me a birthday cake and she gave me a gift of little precious things

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sonia

  1. arlene1027 says:

    I am sorry to hear about this Lou! It reminds me of my own ordeal three years ago.

    Like

  2. Dinna says:

    Lou, so true indeed…life is short. I like your new space. =) I’ll be visiting more.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Oh than you so much Dinna. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I think that is life. As they say, life and death comes at unexpected moments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

