A medley of vegetable remnants

I haven’t blogged for a week. I do have a draft but I need a picture to go with it. Where did the week go? First there was Monday and then Tuesday and before I know it, tomorrow is Friday. I am so looking forward to the weekend that I will suffer going to the city tomorrow just to get the day over with.

Am so tired today, maybe because of the light rain on the way home which made the afternoon dark and gray. I was supposed to do a couple of errands on the way home but I think those could wait over the weekend.

For dinner I was just going to reheat a meat dish I’ve prepared two days ago but I’ve had it so many times am afraid my cholesterol would go astronomically high, not to mention my uric acid. I need a break from it.

I have several left over vegetables in the fridge. With the economy the way it is, one can’t afford to throw anything away. I could only salvage a handful of the snow peas and I had to throw away the red pepper. I had three-quarter of a head of a huge bok choy or napa cabbage and some pechay, a Chinese chard.

From the freezer, I defrosted a leftover rotisserie chicken breast, chopped them to pieces and added one Chinese sausage, sliced thinly. I sauteed some garlic and onions, added my proteins and seasoned it with black pepper and oyster sauce. I like to saute them a bit longer to marry all the flavors from the meat and the sauce. My late Auntie Caring always told me that the secret in a great food is the length of sauteing and I’ve always stayed in that direction.

Because my vegetables are almost all of the same texture and lightness, I put them all in the pan at the same time. No need to add water because the vegetables emit a lot of water while they wilt.

This is a very satisfying dish and very light. This is my favorite way of cooking Chinese vegetables, it is so versatile and you can use almost any kind – carrots, cabbage, zucchini, cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms, whatever you have on hand. This is best too when you are cleaning your fridge when you have a collection of scraps.

One reason too why I always have a bottle of oyster sauce in my pantry.

This entry was posted in Day-to-day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A medley of vegetable remnants

  1. looks so yummy! and i got a helpful tip from you about sauteing. thanks.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Oh thank you Virgilio.

    Like

Leave a Reply

