Beef Stroganoff

Stroganoff


Last week I bought some ground beef at Costco. When I got home I immediately divvied up the huge package into six portions.

I had left over cream cheese from when I opened a box of smoked salmon from Seattle. So all I needed was a pound of button mushrooms. From yesterday’s dinner party for Kris, they gave me the mashed potatoes we hardly touched which could perfectly go with the stroganoff for work lunch.

This is my recipe as I posted in my old blog:

All the while I thought this was a German dish. It’s only now that I found out it is a Russian. Once in a while I crave for this dish. Like last night when I was feeling down and the weather was just as gray. It was rainy and cold. Surely, one of my favorite comfort foods and easy to make.

The recipe calls for a tender cut of meat but if all you have is a cheaper cut, who can stop you, just cook the meat a little longer until tender or you can substitute ground beef or cubed chicken meat.

This dish is so versatile. You can serve it on wide pasta or rice. And just like me, am sure many of us favor a dish that can be eaten with plain rice.

Ingredients:
6 tbsp. butter
1 pound of top sirloin or tenderloin, cut thin into 1-inch wide by 2-1/2-inch long strips
1/3 cup chopped shallots (can substitute onions)
1/2 pound cremini mushrooms, sliced (go ahead and use button if that is more readily available)
Salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp. flour
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon dry parsley or 2 teaspoons of chopped fresh parsley (or tarragon if you have it)
2 tbsp. of tomato sauce or one small tomato (Optional. Am sure you don’t want to open a can just for this little amount)
Dash of worcestershire sauce
1 cup of sour cream at room temperature
4 ounces of cubed Philadelphia cream cheese

Directions:
1. Season meat with salt and pepper then add flour just to coat.

2. Melt 3 tbsp. of butter in a large skillet on medium heat. Increase the heat to high/med-high and add the strips of beef. You want to cook the beef quickly, browning on each side, so the temp needs to be high enough to brown the beef, but not so high as to burn the butter. You may need to work in batches. When browned, remove beef to a bowl and set aside.

3. In the same pan, reduce the heat and add shallots. Cook the shallots for a minute or two.

4. Add another 3 tbsp of butter if necessary and increase heat to medium high and add the mushrooms.

5. Add tomato sauce.

6. While cooking, sprinkle the paprika and parsley on the mushrooms. About 4 minutes.

7. Reduce the heat to low and add the sour cream to the mushrooms. You may want to add a tablespoon or two of water to thin the sauce. Mix the sour cream thoroughly but do not let it come to boil or it will curdle.

8. Stir in the cooked beef. Add a dash of worcetershire sauce (a teaspoon).

9. Check seasoning. Add more salt and pepper if necessary.

10. Before serving add cubed cream cheese.

Serve immediately over egg noodles, fettuccine, potatoes or rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beef Stroganoff

  1. TBM says:

    This is one of my favorite meals…and on a gray day–perfect.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I got to agree with you. It is perfect with any starch too – rice, noodles, potatoes. Thanks for dropping by.

    Like

  3. Capt Jill says:

    I love beef stroganoff and it’s so easy to make. I skip the paprika and tomato paste. You can do a lot to make it the way you personally like it.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I have to agree. I haven’t tried one with tomatoes, I always prefer without, although I can’t say if I might prefer one with tomato paste. Thank you for dropping by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

