Celebrating friendship and Fall

It has been a relaxing Saturday for me. I finished the second installment of the book I’ve been reading,The Girl Who Played with Fire, by the late Swedish writer Stieg Larsson. And to enjoy the warm weather, I also took a brief walk and in the evening I went to meet a friend and former neighbor D whom I haven’t seen for more than two years.

The Promenade in Bolingbrook is not too far from her house so we decided to go to Francesca’s. I’ve been to their restaurants in Geneva and in Northbrook. I like Francesca’s. Their food is good, the atmosphere is quiet and reasonable. Our waitstaffs were all very friendly and attentive even though it was a very busy night. And they didn’t rush us either.

So D and I had plenty of time to catch up with our lives and enjoy and savor our dinner.

D retired very early 3 years ago while I thought she moved to Florida. Her office changed location and the travel time has proven to be a challenge for her. To add to that the public transportation which we used to take was rerouted too, requiring us to walk farther to get the bus but it was harder for D because she lived about a half mile from the original bus stop. Several bus transfers and the long walks proved to be stressful for her.

But I’ve never seen her looking so great. She’s a lot happier and I was surprised that she’s more open than she used to when we used to take the same bus. I’ve probably known more about her in a couple of hours than the 7 years I’ve known her. Maybe retirement is a great equalizer. So happy for her.

Quattro stagioni


We had pizza for a starter. Prosciutto, artichoke, mushroom, olive and fresh egg. The prosciutto was very generous and the egg was cracked over the cooked pizza.

Ravioli di Zucca


They give you big servings so we decided to split between us our orders. Our ravioli was filled with pumpkin with cream sauce.

Apple fritters with vanilla gelato and caramel sauce

I love the small nooks for small groups

Main dining area

Private room for bigger parties

I wish I wish I wish

After dinner we took a stroll to enjoy the weather. Checked out Charlie’s where accessories were grouped according to colors. They had plenty of party stuff and cheap too. Definitely the place if you are looking to accessorize for a special occasion. Fun place!

Can’t stop Christmas

The stores are already decorated for Christmas but nothing ostentatious as in the previous years. I have very mixed emotions about the holidays, this is the first Christmas without my Mom and am missing her terribly.

This entry was posted in Food, Friendships, Reunions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrating friendship and Fall

  1. arlene1027 says:

    Wow….Italian! I love Italian food 🙂

    Like

  2. nice shots…doing good, Lou.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Arlene. I really don’t know of anyone who doesn’t like Italian food.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Virgilio. I think they are a bit dark, I should have made some adjustments or maybe just my computer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

