Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

Am tired of writing down New Year’s resolutions. I don’t know about you but my number one would always have something to do with my weight. It seems like when I reached my 30s I’ve been struggling with the scale. While it used to be the answer to my vanity, now it takes a more significant part of my well-being. I need to lose weight to keep my diabetes at bay. Perhaps, it will probably help me with my back pain too. They say Asians are small-boned that all that weight is too heavy for our skeletons to carry. Maybe my friend Myla is right because all the years I’ve known her, she’s always had an ideal weight which I envy.

I wish I could just eat and not show it. How can other people be so lucky? I love food and my mother trained us all well in the kitchen. Now that I was able to request a transfer back to the home office in the city, that six blocks of walk each way from/to Union Station would help. And when the weather is nice, I’d sneak a brief walk to the nearest Walgreens or Daley Plaza.

So for lunch yesterday, I just bought a cup of mushroom bisque. For dinner I had rice and some left over corned beef hash. I still have to store some fruits to be part of my regular diet.

No, I can’t go on real diet. The mere thought of it would drive me to binge. Moderation will be my norm, that’s a healthier thought.

IMG_0581

I want to think that my time on earth is on borrowed time and pretty soon I won’t be able to do the things I like and enjoy most doing like travel. I have no regrets for having limited my travels while my mother was sick. She was so unselfish that she let me go to my reunion in San Francisco, attended my cousin’s wedding in Vegas – those were more than enough. I’ve traveled a lot and a couple of times with her when she’s much healthier. My trip to New York at the end of the year has re-sparked my love of exploring new places and getting closer to my friends and meeting new ones. And one of my closest cousin will be moving in Illinois, so something to look forward to. All these fill my hunger for photography.

This year, I already have tickets to spend time at two US National Parks and a plan of a high school reunion in the East Coast in October. Of course I want to finish my trip to New York which was cut short by a bad cold and poor weather. My cousin and I want to try to fill up our weekends with short trips around the area. Perhaps a trip to the West Coast before Fatima moves back to France. It will be a busy year and am looking forward to more adventures.

United Airlines terminal, O'Hare

United Airlines terminal, O’Hare

Keeping all my fingers crossed.

Now make sure you visit Daily Word Press Challenge.

This entry was posted in Food, Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved

  1. frizztext says:

    “I need to lose weight to keep my diabetes at bay…” – so am I
    – maybe photography can help us not to lose interest to move …

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    You are right, except when you blog which is very time consuming and you are sitting all the time.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    Chicago is my favorite city … and I remember the first time I came in the tunnels with all the neon on walls and in the ceiling. I have a friend in Dublin that – has diabetes too – and his doctor told him to start walking one hour per day – and he has lost 2 stones and his diabetes has gone down – amazing results. I cross everything I can for you.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I love the United Airlines Terminal. I was a bit disappointed with LaGuardia. Thank you for helping me with my resolutions. Have a great week!

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Haven’t been on LaGuarida .. for over 25 years I think. Been to Newark – been pretty good for years now.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: RESOLVED « To Mother Earth, with Love

  7. LolaWi says:

    Cholesterol is my problem so I have to watch my diet too. Regular exercise is highly recommended but I haven’t been walking like I used too. Sigh…
    Oh I love the UA terminal at O’Hare too!

    Like

  8. LolaWi says:

    Cholesterol is my problem so I’m watching my diet. Regular exercise is highly recommended but I haven’t been walking like I used to. Sigh…
    Oh I love the UA terminal at O’Hare too!

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Cholesterol and sugar! But I love rice too much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

