Fish saute with salted black beans

IMG_0630

The frigid weather here in Chicago calls for something warm like soup perhaps. But the other day, I defrosted a huge milk fish, a whitefish which is cultured in the Philippines and Thailand. Every Filipino loves this fish but it has a lot of bones so ones has to be careful if you’re not used to it. When I buy this fish I favor the large sized fish because for me it is tastier especially the middle portion.

I grilled a third of the fish, the upper portion, stuffed with tomatoes and onions. I debated whether I should make some fish sour soup with the rest but I decided I eat too much of this soup already, we just vary the protein in it, so I fried the rest.

Tonight while I cooked the rice, I took 3 cloves of garlic, minced finely, 2 small onions which I sautéd with 4 tablespoons of oil. I also added slivers of fresh ginger. After the onion has caramelized, I added the Chinese salted black beans which we call “tausi”. I have rinsed it in cold water because it is very salty. After two minutes I added in the pan the thinly sliced tomatoes. I cooked the sauce slowly so the tomatoes and onions were all soft and mushy.

Then in the pan goes the fried fish. Any fish would do in this dish. I lower the fire and let it simmer and spoon some of the sauce over the fish so all the flavors blend in. Season it with soy sauce.

I was so happy that I decided to make this dish. It turned out so well.

I am finally learning to cook in small portions as I am tired of eating the same dish over and over again. And as much as possible I don’t want to freeze cooked dishes as they are very unappetizing after you’ve warmed it up.

Unless of course it is Filipino adobo which tastes better as time goes.

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Chinese, Day-to-day, Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fish saute with salted black beans

  1. This looks yummy can I use cod? I don’t think I will be able to find milk fish…

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    You can use any kind of fish. Cod would be perfect because it is fatty. The sauce will enhance its taste.

    Like

  3. LolaWi says:

    Yumm! You can make this for our potluck at Fr T’s 🙂

    Like

  4. viveka says:

    Something for me … 10 min dinner. Great and I like that photo – straight into the plate. Have some fried fish in the freezer. This goes on file.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    What? It is a potluck? I thought he’s going to take us to the best pho place there.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    There is a great balance with the sauce here. If you rinse the Chinese salted beans it won’t be salty and then the tomatoes and onions produces the sweet flavor to the dish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

