Chicken soup – my style

IMG_0656
It has been over a month – my cold just won’t go away. I got it while vacationing in New York – all that exposure in that chilly weather.

It went away for a week and one day I just noticed that it was gone. But the next day it came back with a vengeance. A relapse.

So today I made chicken soup.

The other day I went to the grocery store and picked up some grilled chicken but after having it for two meals, I didn’t want to repeat it again. So tonight, I decided to shred the chicken breast and a thigh. I added some shrimp balls I got from the Asian store over the weekend, sliced them.

I try to have some veggies in my fridge all the time to balance my diet and this time I have half of a bok choy and snow peas. I should have added some shredded carrots but I forgot. Forgot too that I have some dry shiitake mushrooms in my pantry. Briefly I debated whether I should add a can of quail eggs but I didn’t want to waste it. I want to use it for a special dish.

After sauteeing the proteins, added some water to make it a soup, I put some Chinese vermicelli. It all came out very well, my Asian/Filipino style chicken soup.

They say chicken soup is a cure for the cold. The thing I like about this soup is you can make it the way you want it – it is so versatile you can customize it according to what taste you want and whatever you have in the fridge or pantry. Tonight this was made with ingredients I have on hand at other times, it will be different, or I might just follow a new recipe.

It is easy to make and it is foolproof. I just hope it cures my cold too.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chicken soup – my style

  1. elizz says:

    so true, my chicken soup is always different from the previous ones i cooked because its ingredients always depend on what veggies are there sitting in my fridge.. i love this soup..

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It is truly a comfort food, especially when it is cold and you are not feeling well.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    This just jumped out of the screen .. and I can smell it. Haven’t had chicken soup since I lived with my grandma – and it was made out hen ! You photo is so good .. petty I couldn’t take the bowl.

    Like

  4. LolaWi says:

    i remember back home that we always had chicken soup when we were sick. it is a comfort food. your soup looks soooo good.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    It really hits a spot, especially like tonight when it is slippery and just messy out there.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Fresh chicken? That must have been heavenly! Nothing could be better than organic chicken from the farm unlike the chicken we get in our grocery stores here.

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    I wish that organic food wasn’t that terrible expensive – over here is it nearly the double price and people can’t afford it. The thing is that the chicken and egg that is sold in supermarkets over here is controlled and checked and 100% samonella free and that is very important for me.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Whole Foods is a block away from where I live but I go there only occasionally, only for special stuff like cheese, French brioche and birthday cakes. I wish they have a salad buffet like what they got in New York or I would be there more often. But many still go there even though the meats cost triple.

    Like

  9. Paola Mata says:

    Your soup looks delicious! So sorry you got sick out here. It’s been such a rough winter. Everyone’s had a bad cold or the flu, myself included. Hope you feel better soon. I know a little spice can clear up the nasal passages. 🙂

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    I think all that long exposure and am trying to blame it all on my first NY trip. LOL I felt bad because I ended up staying indoors in the end as it was really frigidly cold.

    Like

Leave a Reply

