Travel Theme Challenge: Mountains

Ailsa’s challenge for the week is Mountains. To see her journal regarding mountains, go here.

The first mountain I would like to show you is the one in our small town of Santa, province of Ilocos Sur in the Philippines. Our town is at the foot of the mountain, surrounded by the Abra River in the North, the China Sea in the west and in the east is the Mount Tetas de Santa. Growing up our dining room opens wide to the view of the mountain and I particularly love it when there is fog on the ridge.

photo3

The second is where I plan to retire – high up in the mountains. After my bid of getting a home by the sea, I have settled to live in Benguet. The city is called Baguio City and it is the summer capital of the Philippines.

6217327304_45a86ca57f

Santa is about 9 hours by bus from Manila and Baguio City can be reached in 7 hours including meal and rest stops. Traveling from Baguio to Santa could take 4-5 hours. When I am in the Philippines, I split my time between the two places. I feel very lucky that I have both places to unwind.

This entry was posted in Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Theme Challenge: Mountains

  1. LolaWi says:

    You have the best of both worlds!! The mountains and the sea!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I am truly grateful. Baguio turned out to be a good and beneficial choice.

    Like

  3. That is a beautiful place to retire. My father in law went to Sagada which he said looked like the virginal Baguio of so long ago. I hope one day to see it. Perhaps I can pass by and see your dream retirement home one day. To dream is free, right. God bless. Oh, my dream place…a small rest house in Boracay and yes, it will be a welcome place for my blogger friends.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Baguio is turning out to be great for us and I already have very close friends there since I went to college there in the beginning. Like you I wanted a beach house too and we found one in our home province in Ilocos but somehow it didn’t work out. You’re welcome in our home in Baguio anytime and we can all go to Sagada. I’ve never been there myself although I’ve been to Banawe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

