Catch up with Viv

Vivien has been a long-time friend. I was having a hair cut in her neighborhood, if you can call 8 miles that, but since I was free after that I decided it is time we catch up in person rather than just on the phone after my appointment.

This time we went to Chicago’s Greektown. It’s been ages since I last went to Meli’s Cafe. The menu has changed and they now offer wider choices for lunch.

We got there almost noon and on our way to park we saw the line outside. We didn’t wait very long though. And although they don’t rush you to finish your meal fast, I think it is our culture to leave as soon as you are finished. It would have been nice to just enjoy more of the free-refill coffee as they were really excellent and talk some more but those inline would think you are inconsiderate if you linger.

I was determined to order waffles – those thick Belgian waffles with blueberries compote but it was noontime and so I opted to get the piled up pastrami with scrambled eggs, cheese and hash browns underneath.

If you go there during the weekend or I should say at anytime, you are better off parking at the lots than in the meters as they cost $3.00 an hour. I made the mistake of parking the meter and when I realized that it would only cover an hour, I moved my car to the lot and paid $6 for a whole day. We were away for a couple of hours but at least we weren’t worried that I will get a ticket. Not all city parking meters are priced the same. In Chinatown, $3 would give you two hours, not here.

After breakfast we walked across to the Greek bakery where Viv bought bread and some Greek pastries. We took a take out menu to examine their offerings closer, maybe next time we’ll try it there.

From Greektown, Viv and I spent some more time catching up with our lives at her house. She’s getting to make more friends from FaceBook which is great for her.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Chicago, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Catch up with Viv

  1. Aileen says:

    It’s one of the most wonderful things — catching up with friends and spending the rest of the day with them. I miss you two. 🙂 Beautiful pictures, Tita Lou!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Ai, nice of you to drop by. Hey, two years from now I will be home permanently.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    Greektown I have missed of Chicago, love it .. because now I have something new to explore .. hopefully I will be back next year. Love your gallery, because it has everything. So this post I will bookmark. Thanks for taking me along.

    Like

  4. LolaWi says:

    long line at restaurants is no surprise. it was a gorgeous day yesterday. glad you and V had a great time!

    Like

  5. Vivien says:

    It was a fun time Lou, glad that you called me, the brunch was awesome, big portion, i took home half of my pastrami panini, awesome. the coffee is sooo good, we must have drank at least 2 carafes..lol. It was a bit pricey, but hey, am not complaining, because I found a gold ring with little diamonds, white and pink, on the street by the parking lot. Sometimes, it pays when you walk with your head down…you stumble into lil’ treasure…lol. Lou, we should do it again, at wishbone????

    Like

  6. A wonderful time with a great friend indeed. Time flies when we are aound people that help us celebrate life in the most fun and meaningful way.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Looking forward to your visit in Chicago. Our Greektown is small but they have great selection of establishment that serves Mediterranean food.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Hey Viv, next time I hope you find a diamond! Thank you for being such a great friend!

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Viv and I have been friends through thick and thin. An admirable woman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

