Word-A-Day Photo Challenge: Workers of Los Cuatro Milpas

DSC_0188

DSC_0198

DSC_0189

DSC_0196

DSC_0197

DSC_0201

DSC_0189

DSC_0196

DSC_0186

Sue Llewelyn’s challenge for this week is Workers, here. This week I would like to honor the workers of Las Milpas.

If you live in Southern California and you haven’t heard of Las Milpas, then you haven’t lived well. Las Milpas has been named one of the best Mexican restaurants in the country by Travel & Leisure for 2013 and it is a very short list.

I owe this experience from my first cousin, Reggie. We left my aunt’s house very early and even before the restaurant opened at 9:30 already there was a line forming. It is located in Barrio Logan, a neighborhood which is slowly getting gentrified.

High end cars mixed with old battered cars on the street. Once we secured a spot across the restaurant, we joined the line. Inside Reggie took care of ordering, making sure that we try everything in their very limited list of specialties. I took a table right in front of the kitchen facing the workers.

To my cousin’s embarrassment, not only did I take a copious amount of photos while they worked, I also talked (to which my cousin said it was more of an interview) to them. Only after he was getting so red in the face while watching me from the distant exit door later that I took pity on him and thanked the workers for their hospitality and graciousness. Hey, they seemed very happy talking and working and sometimes singing, how can one ignore them? Can you blame me? They were just as excited talking to somebody from Chicago, don’t you think?

San Diego has been my favorite city to visit, firstly because of my aunt and my cousins and also because it has so much character. Needless to say SD is beautiful and the weather is the best this side of the earth. And so I have been there so many times and everytime I go there, my cousin never fails to share with me his discoveries, there is always something new to enjoy.

When we finally got home, I was everyone’s envy among all my cousins as Las Milpas closes as soon as they ran out of food and they’ve never been lucky to get there when it is opened.

Here, I leave you with more photos from Las Milpas.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Family, Photo Challenge, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Word-A-Day Photo Challenge: Workers of Los Cuatro Milpas

  1. viveka says:

    What a fantastic post and the photos talks for themselves – wonderful …. I really enjoyed this post.
    Excellent job, a bit different to my post *smile

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Viveka, thank you! Once I thought of them I couldn’t stop. I just love Las Milpas and I wish to honor them as they are recognized by Travel & Leisure as one of the top ten Mexican restaurant in the US. That’s high honor for a grass root eatery.

    Like

  3. skinnywench says:

    not only informative but very interesting as well – well done 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Sue!

    Like

  5. Rosemarie says:

    Nice photos. Great tip for the next time I find myself in San Diego. Thanks for liking my worker photos too.

    Like

  6. Lovely gallery, well done!

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    You’re welcome. Yes, try it next time you are in San Diego. I heard the lunch time line snakes out from the other streets and they’re closed as soon as all the food they cooked for the day are gone so forget about going there for dinner.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Photography!

    Like

Leave a Reply

