Pancit with Miki and Udon

IMG_0909

Pansit or pancit, a Filipino noodle dish, can be cooked in so many different ways. There are no strict rules in making one – there could be as many variety of this dish equal to the number of cooks.

Pansit is a very forgiving dish. Unlike other Filipino dishes, like pinakbet (a vegetable stew from the Northern part of the Philippines) or caldereta ( a goat or beef stew of Spanish origin), you can almost add anything and everything you got in your pantry or refrigerator.

But I would probably not add green pepper.

This time I have items that needs to be used now or get freezer burns and besides I have had a taste for miki – fresh thick Chinese egg noodles. Last week I bought two bags of them and I decided to make a big pot so I also added some frozen udon.

After rendering my sliced pork, adding the garlic and onions, I also had some frozen fish and shrimp meatballs which I sliced. I also used some Chinese sausage sliced diagonally and fresh shrimps. They were jumbo sized so I cut them into three pieces each. I took out the shells and included in my stir fry the heads because they have so much flavor. But if you are doing that you have to cut the appendages and the other sharp parts of the shrimp. I seasoned it with oyster sauce and when that was not enough I used some fish sauce.

For vegetables I had some snow peas and carrots. I was thinking of adding some dried shiitake mushrooms but I forgot but if you happen to have them when you cook pansit, you can add them in this dish. We’ve never used fresh mushrooms though.

When all my proteins and veggies are cooked, I transferred them to a plate but I left about a quarter in the pot. I added about 2 cups of water.

Meantime I rinsed the udon and miki in hot water and drained. When the mixture is boiling I added the noodles. Don’t worry if it is watery, eventually the starches will absorb the water. In this dish I prefer that it has some water so it becomes a sauce.

To finish it off, I added some green onion and ground black pepper. After putting some noodles in the plate, I added some of the reserved stir-fry on top.

Squeeze some lemon before eating.

Now I have something to share with my two Filipino friends at work tomorrow. When they brought lunch last time, they also brought pansit but cooked very differently and they were both great. One used rice noodles called Pansit Malabon and the other made Pansit Canton.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pancit with Miki and Udon

  1. LolaWi says:

    that looks yum, B! i don’t like green pepper too in my pansit.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Or American broccoli. Their taste are so distinct it takes away some of its authenticity.

    Like

  3. That is one exciting twist. I love pancit and udon. Together, they are a taste bud explosion! Yummy.

    Like

  4. viveka says:

    As the chef I’m – I must say … when can come over *smile
    Very hard to to get pasta and noddle dish looking good … on photos. You have done it. This talks to me big time. Over here we can’t buy king prawns anymore … stopped because of the environmental hazard the farming of them does to mother earth. Miss them, but I accept the band that they have taken …

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Anytime when you visit Chicago Viveka. I hardly use my DSLR nowadays, most of the pictures I’ve taken recently were taken with my iPhone.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I was surprised that it turned out well because udon can be chewy.

    Like

  7. VIVIEN says:

    LOOKS SO DELISH….I WOULD NOT ADD GREEN PEPPER EITHER…LOVE TO USE PEA PODS, CHINESE BROCOLLI…..

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    I’ve read some recipes where they use green peppers. It destroys the flavor of the dish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

