Celebrating Mother’s Day with mothers

Now that am just about to leave the small town I live in, am now just discovering the great places for dining around. Good thing it would still be drivable but I love the place we went to for brunch today to celebrate Mother’s Day.

My cousin Jun called yesterday to find out if I would be available for brunch today. I think the word “brunch” didn’t quite register or I could have skipped my more than regular breakfast. For two consecutive days this weekend I have been having rice as I suddenly fancied eating some fried dried fish which we call “tuyo” in our Philippine language and some sautéed eggs in onions and tomatoes.

What I heard and stuck in my mind was the word “tapas”. Like I couldn’t believe there is a tapas place in my neighborhood and I was curious. My google search led me to a tapas place indeed but they are not open until 4 in the afternoon.

It turned out the restaurant is called Scapa Italian Kitchen, a fine dining experience in Clarendon Hills, the town where I take my train to downtown Chicago. On special occasions like Mother’s Day, they offer a buffet. So with Jun’s Mom, Aunt Claire, his wife Frida, my two nieces – Mia and Alyssa, we had a private room all by ourselves.

Service was very good, the waitstaff very attentive and prompt. They had a decent list of breakfast offerings to glazed salmon, chicken breast, homemade gnocchi and orecchiette, veggies. It was a very satisfying brunch – good value I should say for the price.

Am truly grateful to Jun and Frida to have included me in their Mother’s Day celebration. I miss my Mom but Auntie Claire is like a second mom to me, a great friend and my constant travel companion.

This entry was posted in Chicago, Family, My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Celebrating Mother’s Day with mothers

  1. Viveka says:

    Nice post and wonderful colorful photos … you call it tapas placer .. the portions look massive *smile – now I understand it was some kind of buffet – fantastic looking food .. and I’m glad you all had a fantastic meal and a great day together.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It was out of the ordinary buffet. It was really special, all home cooked and a lot of love given in their preparation. I specially liked their braised beef short ribs. I want to recreate it – that’s how good it was.

    Like

  3. Viveka says:

    I wonder why I don’t get any notifications why .. I got replay on my comments.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Maybe there is storm in the clouds. He he he

    Like

  5. TBM says:

    Looks like a fun time and the food looks wonderful.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Oh it was TBM. I specifically enjoyed their boneless braised beef short ribs – it was so great I’ve been looking for a recipe that would be close to it. I am sure it has red wine.

    Like

  7. LolaWi says:

    Nice treat! I heard good things about Scapa. My co-worker loves the place.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Well certainly they’re on a par with the great restaurants in the city. Too bad they serve dinner only. It is $$.

    Like

  9. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm | Taking a Deep Breath

  10. medileen says:

    Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

    Like

Leave a Reply

