Montana – Second Day

The Road-to-the-Sun is still closed and the front desk told us that the way to Waterton (the Canadian side of the park is called Waterton) is that way. Many were disappointed because several of the attractions of Glacier is on that side and I wanted to show my family The Waterton side, take a cruise on Waterton Lake and from there the view of The Prince Albert Hotel is beyond description. But the road was closed for repairs and many parts are still under 7 inches of snow.

The sky was gray again and drizzly so I decided to drive to St. Mary’s Lake. Well actually I programmed my GPS to go to Many’s Lake.

The ladies at the gift shop told me that the only way to get there was to get out of the Park, take Highway 2 to the East Glacier entrance. The Road-to-the-Sun would have been only 59 miles from our Lodge, this way it was three times longer.

The mountain sceneries were breathtaking, rivers and creeks everywhere. We reached the Glacier Lodge without any problem. Giving something for the kids to do as they have been tweedling their thumbs because of the weather, no tv and wi-fi, I thought shopping will cure their disappointment.

We had lunch at the lounge as the main dining room was open only for breakfast and dinner. The Glacier Lodge is many times bigger than Lake McDonald, both very rustic but the interior is so much brighter and lighter. It was designed just like our lodge too – like a Swiss chalet.

After lunch we decided to go to St. Mary’s. People told me it will be beautiful and very close but no one told me that we will be going through a mountain pass. The kids thought the ride was scary and am sure my aunt thought so too and I remained quiet as I didn’t want to listen to any nervous talk or it would give me jitters when I drive.

In short it was a white-knuckle drive. Going up the mountains, just more sharp turns, no passing, a few have no guardrails with a precipice below. There hardly was any traffic so I had the road by myself and so it gave me plenty of room to drive.

We ended up at St. Mary’s. The sign said 10 more miles to Many’s Lake and although it is beautiful there I decided to turn back as I might have a surprise at the end of the 10 mile and it would tell me to drive another 26 miles like what happened at St. Mary’s. Besides we all wanted to be past the pass before nightfall.

Here are some photos for that day:

Silver Staircase Falls - we were told that normally falls in Glacier are not given any names because they are only there during Spring - Photo by my goddaughter and niece -Alyssa

Silver Staircase Falls – we were told that normally falls in Glacier are not given any names because they are only there during Spring – Photo by my goddaughter and niece -Alyssa

DSC_0020

Inside the Glacier Lodge

Inside the Glacier Lodge

The view from the bar lounge where we had lunch

The view from the bar lounge where we had lunch

DSC_0052

DSC_0060

DSC_0057

DSC_0063

Note: GNP now has shuttle buses that brings people around the park to minimize traffic and help the environment. I would have been scared to drive to Going-to-the-Sun but I could have driven there anyway.

This entry was posted in Family, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Montana – Second Day

  1. lolawi says:

    awesome pictures, B! truly breathtaking. I’m drooling πŸ™‚ don’t you wish you can take pictures and drive at the same time? safe travels!

    Like

  2. Malou says:

    It looks like the weather is not on the bright side on this particular day but the view of those snow-capped mountains still mesmerizes. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    I wish but Auntie doesn’t mind if I make stops. In fact she drove halfway yesterday from Glacier to Helena and she would wake me up if there’s something of interest for me but it was so gray at times some of the pictures are not as good as I want.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    They are really postcard perfect Malou! These places are all a dream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

