Chicago celebrates the Black Hawks

It was hot and humid even in the early morning hours. Union Station was filled with people in red, wearing their team uniforms of black and red.

At first I wanted to get a shirt as our office let us wear them with our blue jeans on Fridays but I don’t know anything about hockey. So I let it pass but it was fun to see people in party mood.

They came in all sizes and all ages. Even surprised that parents brought their small children. I just didn’t think it was a good idea. I’ve been in a crowd like that when the Bulls won their first championship and I was so scared when I got caught in the middle of the melee. You have people pushing trying to get past you while you just wanted to get out of there. You can’t move, your arms are pressed to your body – it was so scary, I promised not to do that again.

We watched from the safety of our office although there were a few who were brave enough to venture nearer.

Security was tight, they discouraged people from carrying knapsacks and they listened. Am just glad it was uneventful and everyone had fun.

While in the office, we could view the parade route from the 24th floor. They were ant-sized as the parade was at the next block but there are some of us who’s got to work. At lunch time we enjoyed clam chowder sent by our Boston office; if they had won, our office would have sent them the best Chicago pizza. They were really good sports, they didn’t settle with just ordering chowder from the corner deli, instead we got authentic chowder – it was sent frozen but packed in dry ice and rewarmed in the office.

It went so fast, it was over in two minutes. Thanks Black Hawks!

This entry was posted in 9 to 5. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicago celebrates the Black Hawks

  1. LolaWi says:

    Oh there was a sea of people and i stayed put in the office. the trains were jammed packed!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I know. The Union Station was really crowded but they were all happy as opposed to the all too common somber faces of the office workers.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    Coming from the country that hold the world champions in ice hockey – I was so surprised with I heard on the news a couple of weeks ago that Chicago had a chance on victory .. didn’t even know you had an ice hockey team. And our Swede NIKLAS HJALMARSSON – has done a great job too this season. Brilliant … so happy for Black Hawks and Chicago. Congratulations. WELL DONE!!!!

    Like

  4. viveka says:

    Sorry, I forgotten our Viktor Stalberg & Marcus Kruger!

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    I know nothing about hockey. The only terms I know are goalie and a puck. But I agree, am happy for Chicago.

    Like

  6. Tahira says:

    Woohoo!!! šŸ˜€

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Yeah really! Thanks for the Black Hawks we at least have one winning team in Chicago.

    Like

Leave a comment