Looking at flowers a different way

The first book I read in my Kindle is the Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh.

Am glad I came to know her now, when I no longer have a garden, as I was crazy in love with the flowers I planted at the height of my gardening. Her book is the story of Victoria, a foster child, who’s been hardened emotionally by the difficult experiences she had while waiting for adoption. She was uncommunicative and the only way she’s comfortable in talking to you is through the language of flowers. Fortunately, she met and fell in love with someone who understood flowers as intimately as she did.

I planted flowers because I loved them, their fragrance, their beauty and their place in my garden. I collected varieties of jonquils (desire), peonies (anger), irises (message), clematis (poverty), echinaceas (it was not in her list), dahlias (dignity), daylily (coquetry) and hydrangeas(dispassion). I wanted roses but I found them very difficult to propagate in the very cold Midwestern winter so I satisfied myself with floribundas and climbing roses. I wonder if Victoria would have approved of my choices or if I had known the message they conveyed, if I would have avoided them.

After our lunch on Saturday, we drove to the Chicago Botanic Garden to see their Kite Festival but we were very late. After TJ flew his kite we decided to sit around and looked at the blooms.

I have been there several times but this time I was fascinated with the Lotus blooms. In Victoria’s language, lotus mean purity.

At the Botanic garden, I tended to avoid taking photos of flowers that were fairly common to me.

Now that I know that in the Victorian era flowers had meanings, I now look at flowers differently. But am sure I would still judge them according to how they appeal to me.

As Gloria Steinem quoted in her play Sacred Emily, “A rose is a rose is a rose.”

This entry was posted in Flowers, Friendships, My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Looking at flowers a different way

  1. elizz says:

    wow.. a burst of bright colors to brighten up my day.. thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    You’re welcome!

    Like

  3. taphian says:

    that’s a really beautiful gallery

    Like

  4. lolaWi says:

    thanks for taking us to the botanic garden! it was pure delight!!!

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Just love this post … just like me can I fill gallery after gallery with flowers .. there not a day without me taking photos of flowers. The water lilies – stunning photos. Haven’t seen any since I was in Vancouver last year. How boring our world and lives would be with the beauty of flowers … their fragrance … and music of course. Wonderful post.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Oh you’re welcome Wi, thanks to Jun for driving us there!

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    You said it right Viveka! I don’t think there’s an ugly flower in this world. And yes music!

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thank you so much! You have a lovely one.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Thank you so much for dropping by.

    Like

  10. LolaWi says:

    The botanic garden is one of my favorite places to visit!! Your lotus pictures are awesome!

    Like

  11. Beautiful photos Bebs. Takes me back to a colourful spring!

    Like

  12. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Janaline!

    Like

  13. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Wi. They seem to be washed out because of the lighting.

    Like

  14. Thelma de Leon Grover says:

    Hi Lou, I was reading Market Manila’s post about short beef ribs where you posted a comment. I clicked your name and it took me to your blog, I have been reading it all afternoon and I finished reading up to October 25,2012. I really enjoyed your beautiful pictures especially the flowers–ang gaganda talaga!. I love love love flowers too and of course cooking and eating he he he. Take care and God Bless always, Thelma from Florida

    Like

  15. bebs1 says:

    Oh thank you so much Thelma! You know, I always read Market Manila’s blog and I seldom leave any response. That was probably my third response in all those years that I have been his fan. Am glad you dropped by. You’re always welcome anytime here.

    Like

  16. lexyleksono says:

    I love these photos very much, they are so beautiful..!!

    Like

  17. bebs1 says:

    Thank you very much lexyleksono.

    Like

  18. Vivien says:

    Truly a wonderful kaleisdescope of colors! The flowers are beyond beautiful!!!! A perfect picture of Mother Nature’s canvass!!!!

    Like

  19. bebs1 says:

    One can’t go wrong with flowers, everyone loves them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

