Travel Photo Mondays – Mission San Luis Rey de Francia

At the invitation of Noel, I am submitting photos for Travel Monday. To see more pictures from Noel and other participants, go here.

I have almost forgotten these photos I took last year of the Mission House in Oceanside, California – Mission San Luis Rey de Francia. To know more about this old Spanish mission, please click here.

It is a very well-maintained structure, in fact when we went to visit, many parts were closed for maintenance work. We were not even able to enter the church but we were able to tour the museum, the inner courtyard, store and the rose garden.

Please click on the photo for the slideshow.

This entry was posted in Family, Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Travel Photo Mondays – Mission San Luis Rey de Francia

  1. lexyleksono says:

    Beautiful photos.., love them.

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    beautiful gallery of the mission! is this the church where mar and sharon go? i should go there next time i’m in irvine. it must not be too far.

    Like

  3. Thelma de Leon Grover says:

    Hi Lou, I had a classmate in 4th year high school Manila whose ancestry came from Narvacan. Her father was in the U S Navy so her family came here in USA when she was 6 years old but went back to Pinas in 1968 and attended her 4th year high school there. We were very good friends until 2006 when we visited her near Los Angeles. She and her husband became Iglesia ni Cristo and she kept asking me to join also. My husband and I are devout Catholics so I stopped having contact with her as she won’t stop bothering me to join INC. Anyway, we really enjoyed RVing up and down the coast of California. I don’t remember stopping to see this Mission San Luis but we stopped at San Luis Obispo Holy Family Mission and we really enjoyed Hearst Castle in San Simeon. Napunta ka na doon?
    I’m 63 and retired Accountant, I love love love gardening. I wan’t to send you some pictures of my flowers so if you don’t mind sending me you email. Mine is tdg9999@hotmail.com. I’m also on FB, are you on FB? Take care and God Bless always, Thelma

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Yes, it is. You should be able to see everything now. We didn’t get to see the inside of the church when we went.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    There are several mission churches in Southern California. I’ve only been to the one in San Diego , this one and the San Juan Capistrano. I wish to see all the mission churches. This one is a little out of the way, in fact we missed it when we were driving and turned back. But I was sure of it because of my blog friend who has posted photos of it and it is also his parish for the last 20 years. I’ve been to Monterey but didn’t visit the mission churches there. I heard there’s one in Carmel. Glad you had a great time RVing.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Thank you lexyleksono.

    Like

  7. Vivien says:

    Wow! All the pictures are simply amazing!!! Will make sure to visit next time I will be in California.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Call Mar, he lives there and that’s their Parish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

