Country house

Last time when I visited my cousin by St. Louis, she suggested I take a picture of their house.

I promised her I would, she has too much confidence in me that I would take a beautiful picture of their new abode. The house looks better inside than outside so I took a few pictures in sections. It is not shabby at all but it looks small and modest from the street because it is a bungalow. Once inside, you will see that this house is special, that it was really built specifically to fit the needs and without doubt reflected the personality of the original owner of the house.

The house was built for the matriarch of the family who owned a construction company and they also owned the compound. The lady passed away last year and my cousins felt lucky to have grabbed it from the market on time.

Just like my cousins I fell in love with it. It has only two big ensuite bedrooms which was probably meant for a guest or caregiver. From the garage, to the laundry room/mudroom, it flows to the spacious living room, kitchen, sunroom and ends in the covered porch facing the small pond.

I love that it has vaulted ceilings and french doors from the bedrooms to the dining room or sunroom and three going to the back porch. It has plenty of natural light and the compound is made up of only very few homes so it is very quiet.

Like most homes in the Midwest, this house has a full basement with a walkout to the patio, perfect for barbecues and entertaining. My cousin’s other half, who’s a professional chef aside from being a minister, has already claimed it to be his man cave. The basement has a full kitchen and plenty of room for refrigerators and freezers. Ever found a house with more refs than residents? I guess chefs are different characters from you and me. But he carries everything that one needs. It is difficult to imagine wanting something and it couldn’t be there.

It is not very big but it is more than enough for empty nesters. So from the old owner to my cousins, the house is now meant for them because they love every facet of it. Me too!

Here’s my entry to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: House.

The back porch

The back porch

While enjoying breakfast

While enjoying breakfast

Viewing the sunset from the porch

Viewing the sunset from the porch

This entry was posted in Family, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Country house

  1. Lydia says:

    I first thought was – wow, beautiful country home. It looks big to me, but I guess you have been there. God bless them with a comfortable and beautiful home.

    Like

  2. Vivien says:

    What a beautiful country home nestled in the woods. Love the porch, a lovely place to unwind. Awesome pics, Lou.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    In their private compound, that house is the smallest but its living space once you enter is big.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    It is very restful there, esp. the neighbors are so far apart.

    Like

  5. elizz says:

    it definitely looks beautiful with that nice view.. how i wish there’s a sneak peak of the inside πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Next time, I will take a photo.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Dinna. Happy Sunday!

    Like

  8. LolaWi says:

    Beautiful sunset! Love the porch. A very calming view from the b’fast nook.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Yes a perfect place to be alone and not do anything.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Houses | WoollyMuses

  11. hugmamma says:

    a dream home… πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. bebs1 says:

    It is indeed hugmamma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

