A fish tale

Yesterday before I left my cousin’s place in the country, we decided early in the morning to go fishing in their backyard lake. Sort of my Fishing 101, lured by the good luck she had the other day when she caught a blue gill as big as my palm.

DSC_0205

Letting James sleep-in as he unexpectedly had to work the whole week, he was too tired to prepare the second rod for me so my cousin decided to just teach me the rudiments while I took pictures. Actually I was relieved because I wasn’t ready yet to handle the earthworms for bait.

After several days of punishing temperature, pushing to three digits with high humidity, Monday was just temperate. Days before we couldn’t help but compare the weather to the Philippines which we thought we’ve gotten used to but apparently not. There was a cool breeze on Monday providing us respite from the heat. This time we actually enjoyed the weather and sitting outside was just perfect.

With chairs, mats and our morning coffee, we settled on the dock. My cousin hooked the worms and it didn’t take very long before she felt a big tug. I immediately helped her haul it, took out the bait and hook from the big mouth bass before transferring it to the other basket. I grasped it tight with my two hands but it wriggled and wiggled and fortunately for the fish, it lived to tell the tale of her scape from the soup pot because after that we didn’t catch anything.

We regaled James with our morning experience but he was unimpressed that we had nothing to show for it but a photo. If anything the picture is our proof that this is just not another fish tale.

The one that got away

The one that got away

This entry was posted in Family, Midwest, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A fish tale

  1. lexyleksono says:

    Great story, great photos too

    Like

  2. viveka says:

    A great fish tale. Brilliant photos and good for you that the fish was allowed to keep on swimming. I love fishing, many years since I did now – great way to relax. I wouldn’t mind being in your fishing party. That basket and the surrounding would have suited me.. well.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Lexy!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    This is my first Viveka. I really enjoyed it. Now am looking forward to another fishing vacation. I wish the wait is not long so I could read a book in between.

    Like

  5. lolawi says:

    oh my, what a big fish! i bet the experience was relaxing and fun!

    Like

  6. viveka says:

    It’s very relaxing with fishing, but I never tried to read a book at the same time. Best weather to fish in is rain. *smile

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    It was fun Wi, I am looking forward to learn how to fish.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    No wonder some men would go out there no matter what the weather and yes, I haven’t seen a fisherman reading while enjoying the hobby.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Maranto.

    Like

  10. Congrats on your catch. Fishing is a relaxing activity. Add a picnic food and great stories…a fun event. Have a blessed weekend.

    Like

  11. bebs1 says:

    I truly enjoyed it Island Traveler. Actually I just helped my cousin. I would like to try it again. Am sure this would be a fun activity for you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

