The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual POV

Point of view. Among thousands of photos I have collected over the years, I find it difficult to pick one photo to establish an unusual point of view.

I thought an afternoon in St. Louis and stopping by for frozen custard would fit the bill to this challenge. Because food is the focus of this afternoon venture, I would normally take a picture of the item and oh, how I love taking food pictures. This time I had a different point of view.

Beforehand it was mentioned to me that the big thing when it comes to frozen desserts in St. Louis is frozen custard. But Milwaukee, Wisconsin they said have more frozen custard stores. In Illinois they are served in Culvers, a chain restaurant but I haven’t tried them. So on Monday afternoon which was a very hot day indeed, anything cold or frozen would be the norm. We were in the Chippewa neighborhood, and Ted Drewes Frozen Custard shop is in the list of Route 66 Roadside Attractions.

It looked like pandemonium when we reached there but ordering was very orderly and service quick. Their parking lot was filled and people all over, hunging out. Kids sitting at the back of their vans lined up like a Norman Rockwell painting. It reminded me of good ‘ol times, summers of long ago.

DSC_0183

DSC_0185DSC_0184

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Midwest, Photo Challenge, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual POV

  1. And we have made this a tradition, to take our guests to this St.Louis Institution of frozen custard and we have yet to try all the countless flavors and ‘mixes”; “point of view” sounds like a creative custard profile by itself!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks to you and James for taking me there. I bet you the Cardinal Sin is made up of bricks of chocolate.

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    must be a gem on historic route 66.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I’ve never seen anything like that. It’s a destination to a lot of people in St. Louis and I was told they stock up for Winter even though this store is open all year round.

    Like

Leave a Reply

