Travel Theme Photo Challenge: Hidden

Simply Beautiful blogs about Mallard Lake regularly that I teased her that she should have titled her web blog by that name. Check out her blogs tagged “Nature”.

She has taken so many beautiful photos of the park and the last one got me truly curious. To my surprise, the Mallard Lake Forest Preserve in DuPage County is not too far from where they live and so close to the residential area and center of town. But she said so few of her friends has taken the time to really appreciate it but I was smitten with her photos of the place and so much more when I saw it in person.

Jun, her husband said he wondered why the road from the entrance to the lake is winding when the planner could have just made a straight road. I love that the path meanders, if you are in a car you are forced to drive ever so slowly and same thing with your bike and enjoy the scenery.

It is late in the summer now and almost all the prairie plants are done blooming and have turned brown, trying to replenish all their energy for next year’s blooms once again. I could just imagine how beautiful it must be with all those yellow flowers. Now I am looking forward to see it’s fall splendor.

This is my entry to Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack Photo Challenge in her Travel Theme: Hidden. Mallard Lake looks ordinary from the busy road where numerous people drive by everyday; from the street it does not look any different from any other parks but for the absence of many trees but fields of wild flowers, it is so easy to ignore.

One has to drive farther in to see its hidden magic. What an oasis of peace, an enchanted place. I guess that is part of its charm that only a few people visits it, am sure they would rather keep it for themselves.

I could hardly blame the Salgados for spending many special moments here. It is their tiny paradise and healing place.

Thank you for sharing it with us.

Sunset at Mallard Lake

Sunset at Mallard Lake

We stayed until dusk

We stayed until dusk

This entry was posted in Friendships, Midwest, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Travel Theme Photo Challenge: Hidden

  1. arlene says:

    Lovely shots Lou!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Arlene. Have a great week!

    Like

  3. Lydia says:

    I don’t believe you. Show me. Take me there.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I don’t have PS so the pics speak for themselves. Just tell me when.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  5. lolaWi says:

    nice pictures, B. jun and i are glad you enjoyed mallard lake.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I want to go earlier next time. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

