An afternoon in the forest

Talk about being unfit. Now that I am home, I could feel the aches in my muscles.

While volunteering for four hours at the Dan Ryan Forest Preserve with 11 other co-workers as part of our community service, I could feel the aches and pains in my body. Not that I stressed and stretched myself that much I knew my whole body was having a full work out. I love when I sweat profusely, clean water seeping out of your skin, falling from my brows to my face. It felt very rejuvenating but it is hard labor for someone who’s got a desk job.

After our task of chopping down undesired trees (those which are not native to our area), and clearing the underbushes, we felt we accomplished a lot. I always enjoy and appreciate my time in state and national parks, it feels natural for me to help preserve them. So when the choice of my friends filled up fast which was an in-office activity, my second preference was to help the Friends of the Forest Preserve. Hard work but well worth it. To be out there in the open and breathing fresh air in a nice day like today – we really all enjoyed it.

Volunteering for an indoor activity would have been much easier but getting out of my comfort zone and getting dirty was very rewarding.

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, At the Zoo. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An afternoon in the forest

  1. viveka says:

    Wow, good for you …. fresh air and hard work .. haven’t killed many. Excellent done – and great photos .. and pains after a good day out. *smile

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I love hard work and fresh air. Although I don’t know about physical labor – maybe because I am so unfit. But I love to walk esp. with my camera with me.

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    you had a good workout! wish my company would participate in similar community service.

    Like

  4. viveka says:

    I’m unfit too .. and a day so much fresh air would floor me for a couple of days. Good on you. I start my Zumba tomorrow again. So that will change my fitness a bit. *smile

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    That’s okay, you have your own community/church service. That’s more than enough.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Good for you Viveka. I love to walk only if the weather is cool. In Chicago humidity, nah . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

