Ascension Church

This is going to be my third parish in a year if I choose Ascension Church. How did this happen?

First, I moved out of my apartment and moved in with my sister. They have a beautiful contemporary church and I joined right away but a week later I had to move again as traveling to/from her place was creating difficulties with all our schedules. Now I live closer downtown.

Chicago has a big Catholic population, Irish, Polish, Germans, Spanish, Filipinos, Mexicans – it is one melting pot, thus there’s a multitude of churches to choose from.

There’s not a church that I don’t like. Even though I am tempted to register at a church downtown I feel I should join the local one, to have that feel of belonging in my community.

The first church my friend and I visited around the area is the Ascension Church. It is not too far from where we live, in the next town. I immediately fell in love with the church. It is over a 100 years old but the church community is so alive, the mass interactive and you could feel its pulse with the parishioners. Just like the church I like in Chicago, this one has a very strong choir and the person we talked to during our first visit was very friendly and made us felt welcomed.

But my friend asked that we go and check out another church next time. Although I have set my heart in Ascension this early, I want to keep an open mind. Maybe it is worth a try.

This entry was posted in My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ascension Church

  1. lolaWi says:

    beautiful church! hope to see it someday!

    Like

  2. viveka says:

    Beautiful gallery … and a very beautiful church. That church floor is like a mirror. I suppose if you are a regular church visitor the church is important and how congregation welcomes you. I would think the priest/minister would have something to do with it too. I hope you find a church that you can call home and yours.
    I was very fascinated with the First United Methodist Church at the Chicago Temple in Chicago, as a building .. there in the middle of all the modern skyscrapers was this church, also a skyscraper.

    Like

  3. mywearyheart says:

    Beautiful pictures that speak of a beautiful heart.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thank you mywearyheart and for stopping by.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Yeah Wi, I hope you are able to see it and attend mass there. You’ll see what I mean. It’s charged with so much positive energy and they even have a healing mass. That must be once a month because they didn’t have it last Sunday.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Viveka, I’ve been wanting to see that Methodist Church. It’s been written about a lot. Maybe next Spring I will make it a point to see it. Yes, a church is very important to me. It gives one a feeling of security.

    Like

Leave a Reply

