From purgatory to heaven with tamales

The acolytes were being taught the rudiments of the mass

The acolytes were being taught the rudiments of the mass


This Sunday, I attended mass at St. Odilo Church for the first time. While Ascension Church has its dome, St. Odilo is “The Shrine” – National Shrine of the Poor Souls.

Their bulletin says it is the only parish in the US dedicated to the Souls in Purgatory and “it was founded and sanctioned as the Shrine of the Poor Souls by his Eminence, George Cardinal Mundelein, in 1928.”

Growing up, catechism taught us about Hell, Purgatory and Heaven. Lately I am learning that we all go to heaven because God is all forgiving. In fact St. Odilo has a Purgatorial Society and since All Souls Day is coming this week, Saturday to be exact, one can register the names of deceased relatives. I want to believe mine are all in heaven, especially that I missed picking up an envelope to put all their names. It says though that a visit to the church which is a special indulgence warrants my dead loved ones get prayers for 200 days.

While I am mulling which church to pick as my parish, the Guadalupano Society were selling homemade tamales as we got out. I’ve had Mexican tamales before but I wasn’t too impressed but these ones are the best. There was a tamale line and I got lucky to take home a dozen of pork and chicken which me and my friend devoured in the car as it was already noon. They were moist, tasty, perfectly seasoned and with just a hint of Mexican spice. The vendors ran out of the cheese and peppers which maybe was their best seller but I was happy with what I got. In fact, I’m thinking of going back next week just for the tamale alone.

Lest you think I am committing sacrilege by saying that, there is actually a high mass in Latin on Saturday, All Souls Day, which I am determined to attend, with or without tamale.

But I did call the Guadalupano Society to find out if they would be selling tamales again next weekend and the answer was the ladies will take a votation to determine if they would do it again in which case they would be selling it on Sunday. I will be there right after the first mass.

But I would have to take care of the souls of my loved ones first just to make sure that they get to heaven.

Happy All Souls Day!

A piece of heaven wrapped in corn husks

A piece of heaven wrapped in corn husks

This entry was posted in Chicago, My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to From purgatory to heaven with tamales

  1. viveka says:

    Bec, very nicely written post … hard for me to really comment on, because I don’t any beliefs that belongs to a religion as such. But you have describe your inheritance and you connection to your church .. very nicely written here. And I hope you lost ones are at a very special place … looking after you.

    Like

  2. lolaWi says:

    is st odilo now your parish church? it is famous for their latin mass – tridentine rite!

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    I respect your belief. Your goodness to your Mom and to others knows no religion or goes beyond any faith and that is very important Viveka. And more people are like you on this earth, then it would be a better place.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    As of today I think I am more in synch with Ascension Church. I really feel that I am a part of the mass rather than following the mass and I like the electricity of the crowd there. St. Odilo has a big Hispanic population so the English mass we attended seemed too sparse to the big church. Am sure the Spanish mass is very different but I would like to attend their Latin mass. It’s been awhile since I’ve attended one.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Bebs, thank you so much – I don’t have any problem with any kind of religion .. everybody is happy in their own beliefs – and there is a place for us all.
    Only thing that strikes me time after time – that most wars has been about religions and every religion says that we should love and accept each other for what we are.
    It’s a hot subject.
    Bebs, thank for you wonderful words, they made me smile and my heart really felt comfortable.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Religion is very personal but I don’t mind talking about my belief. I am not imposing it on anyone else. What you are as a person is very important too for what is religion if you don’t practice what it teaches you.

    Like

  7. Food for the soul followed by food for the belly… Inspiring indeed!

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Island Traveler. Typical Pinoy, always taking care of their bellies. LOL

    Like

  9. contact says:

    Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Kudos

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    The theme is from WordPress but the photo in the header is mine. Thank you!

    Like

  11. viveka says:

    Bebs, we can write about what ever we want and feel for – and I think it’s great that we can share and try to understand each other…. I didn’t read it like you’re imposing anything on your readers.

    Like

  12. bebs1 says:

    I hope not Viveka.

    Like

Leave a Reply

