Touched

996040_601588979878290_292677391_nThis morning, as I was exiting the Union Station there was the Salvation Army person with her bell, asking people to give to the Emergency Relief Fund for the Philippines. This deeply touched me.

At work, I don’t dwell too much on what happened to the Philippines. As a cousin wrote me, her heart cries for all those who died and suffered, I share her sentiments. The Philippines will always be home to me even though I have lived longer here in the US. That is where most of my family lives and many of my lasting friendships are there. When my friends and co-workers ask me how my family survived Haiyan, my eyes well up, almost to the verge of tears. I am myself surprised with my emotions because all my friends in that part of the country survived. They are now spearheading efforts to help the rest of the less fortunate out of their own resources. Am so proud of them and I wish I could join them physically.

At home, my friend and I argue. She is so stressed with how slow aids are being given to the survivors. She is normally very opinionated and high strung when something does not work to her liking, so she was swearing to all the Philippine politicians and the government, which a friend termed as lalochezia. Under normal condition my friend is very caring and compassionate especially to animals but she has developed an extreme dislike to all the corrupt politicians in our country. Unfortunately the subjects of her ire could not hear her but maybe it reflects the feelings of many of the people in a country which she has left. There will always be people who thinks and feel they could do a better job and yet they are on the sidelines. I wish they would step up and act. I, on the other hand, looks at the brighter side of things because how could I even dream of going back if I don’t feel any hope for the future.

I am touched that so many countries have come to our aid. My friends and the people I work for have asked how they can help. I have another new boss and I was surprised when his wife sent me an email asking how my family survived and since I didn’t specify anything they could do to help, she said they will donate to the Philippine Red Cross. I have a new respect for them.

Even my former co-workers at the Hellenic school called their concern. My firm is having a fund-raising to help too especially that we have offices in the country. My boss of 30 years promised to help through there. Even some of our clients have tapped on their reserves. Am so thankful that we’re not on this alone.

It is a great feeling to know that people think of you and are concerned about your family. Even my friends from FaceBook sent me messages to touch base. I know that all I have to do is voice my need but their prayers are enough. If they are there I know I could count on them.

All I have to do is ask.

My heartfelt thank you from the bottom of my heart, and from all my countrymen from both sides of the ocean for all the compassion and love you’ve shown us. That Salvation Army lady, does she even know anyone from my country and yet she was there for us.

Dire needs definitely show the worst in men but am glad this time, more men are showing the best in humankind.

This entry was posted in Friendships, Philippines. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Touched

  1. Vivien says:

    I appreciate the many help and efforts from the countries on the other side of the globe. It irks me that at this time of crisis, Expediency is what is needed, not the turtle pace action of some of the officials!!!!

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    The world is getting even smaller when we are all connected via Internet, and we are not so divided by countries as we did in the old time, thus we are obliged to help one another…

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Vivien, all I can say is everytime there is a catastrophy there is no perfect response. I think it goes within the territory especially there has been nothing of this magnitude. Complaints like this were present here too during Katrina, how could you expect better from a small country like the Philippines when we even don’t have the resources more advance countries have.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Amy, you are so right. I wish all countries help each other not only during difficult times. There should be more a spirit of cooperation instead of waging wars on each other.

    Like

  5. lolaWi says:

    The outpouring help and love from all over the world is simply humbling. I am very grateful.

    Like

  6. A moving post . It is a very sad, tragic time for the Philippines. Even sadder is that most of the victims are already poor . My prayer is that they will overcome all these. That all help will come to those in need. That politicians and all those who received donations will 100 percent give all the aid and relief the world over has shared from their hearts.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    LolaWi: I guessed the outpouring shows we have a lot of friends out there.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Island Traveler: I agree, they had nothing to begin with and now talk about being totally wiped out. I cannot fathom the loss of lives and properties – unforgettable but what’s so striking are the amount of help and aide we are getting. Like you I hope they put them all to good use as there are plenty of lessons to be learned from this tragedy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

