Mom’s biko or sinukmani recipe

DSC_0042One of my favorite snacks which my Mom made many times is a rice cake cooked in coconut milk. It is a Filipino recipe and they just call it suman but that term is too general because back in the Philippines, anything made with sweet rice grain and coconut milk is invariably called that.

Filipino stores sell several kinds of Filipino delicacies but I could not find anything that resembles Mom’s biko so yesterday I was determined to make it. I got invited to a friend’s late Thanksgiving dinner and I volunteered to bring the dessert.

I always have cans of coconut milk in the pantry and I still have a half bag of sweet rice. And I also found a can of condensed milk. In short I had on hand all the ingredients.

It is time consuming and work incentive. It is truly a labor of love to make it as it needs patience as you stay by the pot stirring the cooking coconut milk and sugar to get the right consistency.

I, of course, gets reminded of Mom. I once convinced my Mom to teach me how to make it and I am so glad for that experience. How much I missed her while I stirred the pot, putting me in her shoes, the many hours she spent to cater to the satisfaction of her family. I literally loved everything my Mom produced in the kitchen. Unfortunately I never wrote anything down and I have to rely on rote memory and wing it. So I now must write it down so I won’t be guessing next time.

Ingredients:

6 cups of sweet rice
6 cups of water
2 cans of cream of coconut (unsweetened)
6 heaping tablespoon of white sugar or 1.5 cup
1 pinch of salt

Topping:
2 cans of cream of coconut (same as above)
1 can of condensed milk
1 cup of brown sugar

Procedure:

Wash sweet rice and cook in rice cooker with the equal amount of water. My grandfather taught me to cook rice by measuring the rice with my thumb and marking my finger by putting the tip of my middle finger at the top of the rice and with my fingers from the top of the rice and where my middle finger is should be the same measure of the water. You might want to lessen the water that way it would be cooked al dente.

In another pot, pour the rest of the ingredients. Put it in slow fire and stir in one direction so it won’t curdle until it gets creamy. Add the al dente rice in the pot and mix thoroughly. If the rice is half-cooked let it sit in the fire until it is fully cooked.

Topping:

You can make the topping a day before.

Pour all ingredients in a pot and let it cook in slow fire and continuously stir in one direction until it caramelizes. When done it should be very thick. If it retains its shape when you pour it out of a spoon then you know it is done.

Let it cool.

Transfer the rice to a 9.5 x 13″ bowl and even it out with a spatula. Then cover with the coconut caramel topping.

Put in the oven at 400 deg. just to brown the top.

Don’t let it stay in the oven too long or you might end up with a soggy suman, remember it is already cooked.

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Family, Food, My Core, Remembering Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mom’s biko or sinukmani recipe

  1. viveka says:

    I love coconut … cooking rice the right way isn’t the easiest – your grandpa’s instructions reads great to me. When I was working we had rice cookers – most because with rice you need it to be kept at the same temperature the whole time, rice can be very dangerous if there has been fluctuation in the temperature.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I’ve seen people with their rice cookers on all the time. I tried that once but the rice got spoiled faster, the best is to keep left over rice in the refrigerator. It depends too if the grain is new or old harvest/crop. An old crop needs more water to cook. But once you have mastered the essential of cooking rice, there is no big secret to it. I guess it helped that I grew up cooking rice in an open fire before the advent of rice cookers.

    Like

  3. Vivien says:

    always a fave dessert during pinoy parties….yummmmmy.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    There is always too much food in Filipino parties that there’s almost always no room for desserts. But if there is I’d take this with coffee.

    Like

Leave a Reply

