Rediscovering Scotch eggs

For the Christmas Eve potluck, this time I thought I’d make Scotch eggs. I think it is making a come back as I keep seeing them lately. Photos of Scotch eggs with the deep yellow yolk soft, creamy and silky in the middle unlike the ones of the past where the eggs were boiled until they get a blue ring around.

I wanted to recreate those recipes with soft boiled eggs; however, on second thought, I was afraid I would be offering a dish that might spoil everyone’s holiday by contacting salmonella. If I have organic eggs and access to very fresh eggs, I think I would make it that way but for everyone’s safety I made sure my eggs were sufficiently boiled and the meat well-fried. Precaution was the rule of the day.

DSC_0012
I first had my Scotch egg as a college student. My late brod-in-law’s aunt, Nang Candeng, used to serve them in her boarding house where my sister and I stayed as students in Baguio City. To extend the eggs, she’d cut them in half and wrapped them with ground pork and we’d dip them in catsup. However everybody here in the US use the whole egg and cut them in half before serving because really one is too much especially when there are other foods around.

Ingredients:

1 dozen boiled eggs
3 lbs. ground beef
1 onion, minced finely
1 large carrot, shredded
1 teaspoon chives (optional)
1 cup of finely chopped fresh Italian parsley
1 tbsp. of Worcestershire sauce
salt and pepper to taste
4 fresh eggs
half cup of flour (I used cornstarch as we ran out of flour)
3 cups of Panko
Oil for deep frying

Dipping sauce:

1/4 c. of grained mustard (preferable)
1 c. mayonnaise

I find this very easy to make because you can practically customize the meat mixture with whatever you prefer. Others prefer ground turkey and pork and one even make use of dimsum mixture and add chopped green onions or garlic. I omitted garlic this time because I am not too fond of raw garlic in my cooked food.

In a big bowl mix the first 8 ingredients, crack on the mixture 2 eggs and add the flour for binding. Mix very well.

Get a fist size meat, roll roughly into a ball and then flatten on a board or wide plate. Wrap the mixture over the boiled egg, making sure it is covered all over.

When done refrigerate while you warm up your oil.

Beat the remaining 2 eggs, and place the panko in a separate plate. Dip the Scotch egg in the eggs and then roll on panko and deep fry. Moderate the fire so the eggs don’t burn outside and the meat still raw inside.

Serve with the mayo-mustard dip.

You may serve this at room temperature so it is perfect for potluck and to carry to a picnic.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rediscovering Scotch eggs

  1. So, using the corn starch didn’t affect the texture or holding power? They look yummy!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Suburbanferndaleark, no not at all. It is probably better. Yes it is delicious and the beef goes real well when dipped in mustard/mayo.

    Like

  3. I had these for the first time last year in a bar in Colorado. I am so stealing this recipe! thank you for sharing.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thank you, my pleasure Laura! Happy holidays!

    Like

  5. Happy holidays! Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  6. Rediscovering Scotch eggs | Taking a Deep Breath

    Like

Leave a Reply

