Ginataang Manok (Chicken with Coconut Cream)

DSC_0001My friends came over for a simple dinner. Aside from the salad with baby greens and Scotch egg, I cooked a dish I have been thinking of making for the longest time.

When my friend and I were still working in Manila, Mila used to make a huge pot of ginataang manok almost every week. With our meager salary back then, we bought the cheapest chicken parts we could get but with the creamy coconut milk that dish went a long way, consuming a lot of rice.

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken chopped (I used all chicken wings as I bought a 10-lb bag at Costco)
1 inch size fresh ginger, minced
3 cloves garlic
Fish sauce to taste
Freshly ground pepper
2 large shallots, minced
2 cups of squash, cut in 1″ square
2 tbsps of kasubha (safflower or false saffron)

Wash chicken thoroughly and drain. Chicken here in the US is very bland so I always marinate it with ginger, garlic, black pepper and fish sauce overnight just so the flavor would seep in. Refrigerate.

Cook chicken with the marinade in a slow fire until liquid dries up and the chicken fat rendered. Saute the minced shallot in the chicken fat.

If using coconut milk in a can, stir it thoroughly and pour in the sauteeing chicken. Lower the fire and do not stir until the coconut milk bubbles. Stir it slowly just so it won’t get watery and curdle. When chicken is done add the squash and the kasubha. These last two ingredients are optional, I just happened to have them on hand and it turned out very well. At this point you can also add hot pepper although I didn’t include it in the list because my friends are not into hot peppers.

The kasubha didn’t add to the taste but I like the added color.

Serve with plenty of rice.

My friends brought some Madeleine’s and it so happened that there was raspberry gelato in the freezer so it turned out perfect together.

This entry was posted in Food, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

