Vigan Royal Bibingka Revised

DSC_0002

Filipinos love rice cakes, steam, baked or cooked over open fire in a clay pan which is how bibingka is normally made in the provinces.

We have two versions of Filipino bibingka, one is the bibingkang kanin made out of rice flour and the Vigan royal bibingka which uses ground sweet rice. Sweet rice is sticky so the cake is dense and heavy unlike the bibingkang kanin which is fluffy. Now don’t ask me how it got its name.

The royal bibingka is a specialty in my province. I have one recipe in this blog for it but I decided to tweak it after tasting one that I really like from Abuelita Restaurant in Vigan. Theirs were made in small muffin size rounds and the butter flavor is very pronounced.

Since the original recipe here didn’t call for butter, I decided to add it to my ingredients.

So here’s my revised recipe:

5 cups of sweet rice flour (I used Mochiko)
2 cups of fresh milk
2 cups of granulated sugar
1 can or 2 cups of coconut milk
4 beaten eggs
1 can condensed milk
1 tbsp. of vanilla
dash of salt
1 stick of melted butter
Banana leaves to line pan (optional)

Mix all ingredients in a bowl; however add only 1/2 can of condensed milk in the mixture. Reserve the 1/2 can for topping.

The mixture will fit a 9-1/2 x 13″ size pan. Line the pan with banana leaves (if using), otherwise you can just pour the mixture into the pan.

Bake in 350 deg. F for an hour. 10 minutes before finishing spread the 1/2 can of condensed milk on top of cake and bake some more till it gets golden brown.

This entry was posted in Battling the bulge, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vigan Royal Bibingka Revised

  1. Amy says:

    Looks so delicious! Happy 2014!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    It is Amy. I wish you the best of the New Year, good health, more wealth and more to cheer about!

    Like

  3. Vivien says:

    so delish…..

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thanks, glad you like it.

    Like

  5. I knew I missed something during the holidays. I ate a lot of sweet treats but missed this heavenly delight. I’m off today, perhaps my wife will cook one for me using this recipe. Thanks.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I hope she does and I hope you get to enjoy it. From my kitchen to yours!

    Like

  7. I’d like to try making this, but would need to wait until the over-indulgences of the festive season have faded into the background.

    Hope 2014 is all that you could wish for.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Thank you, I hope you’ll like it. Best wishes to you too with the New Year, good luck, good cheer and all the best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

