365 Project: Day 2 – New Year Snowstorm

Monroe Bridge

Monroe Bridge before the evening rush hour

The picture is not as bad as reality. The winterstorm started on New Year’s Eve spoiling revelry plans for many. Me and my friends had to cancel our plans ourselves as aside from the weather, some of us were already nursing a cold and I was recovering from a bout of bronchitis.

January 2nd is my first day back to work and many times I asked myself why I didn’t stay home and telecommute but after too much indulgence from the holidays I wanted to take my 6-block walk each way to and from the office from the Union Station. Besides staying home makes it too easy to reach for more food from the refrigerator.

The snow fell heavily even after I have cleaned my car in the morning. Leaving work early to avoid more snow, I found 3 inches thick on my car. Good thing the gentleman parked next to me offered to help me as he warmed up his car.

Some angel!

(iPhone photo)

This entry was posted in 9 to 5, Chicago and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 365 Project: Day 2 – New Year Snowstorm

  1. viveka says:

    Wow, so Chicago has got it’s famous winter at last … I’m still waiting on our. I guess when it comes it will come real bad. I’m a bit lost .. I thought you walked to work and then you take the car. I wouldn’t even dream of driving in a weather like that – but I haven’t been driving since 1968 *smile

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    From the house I take my car to the train station. It is only a 15-20 min. ride. From Union I walk 6 blocks. It is a good exercise esp. when I am not dragging my roller bag which carries two computers. They could be heavy.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    Okay, now I understand better. I was thinking that you maybe had to take the car to the station … computers are truly heavy. That is why I have a netbook when I travel.
    Ipad I can not agree with, I am too slow. *smile

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I do take the car to the train depot, take the train and walk. They are already small but they are company-issued computers so I have no choice.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    It seams like it’s getting colder in Chicago .. so stay warm and stay safe.
    When working in UK – when the winter came .. everybody stayed at home, because nothing worked .. love it. Working from home great choice.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I was hoping they’d declare the office closed but nope, office is open. Good thing I can work from home.

    Like

  7. Knight in shining armour are still to be found. Wonderful.

    Hear the snow and cold is pretty fearsome over there. We’re getting rain — lots of it, so everywhere that isn’t flooded is soggy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

