Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

This is going to be part of my 365 Project: Day 3 – Beginning. To see more entries to this challenge, go here.

Early morning rush hour

Early morning rush hour

It would have been a nice morning but don’t be fooled by the bright sun. It was nothing but frigid, bone chilling January morning. By the time I entered the office, I felt like my skin has hardened like rough leather but it was cold like steel.

Mother Nature is showing us who’s the master. I was even surprised that they call this New Year snowstorm Hercules. It has wrought havoc to the Midwestern states and now they call it the North ‘Easter in the East.

Yesterday it was powdery snow but today it has hardened and it was slippery my car slid and almost hit some parked cars. It was a good thing I was able to control the wheels but for a moment it caught me by surprise.

But this is not the end. My co-worker just reminded me to take home my computers as the prediction is unseasonably low temperatures like we’ve never had in 20 years. Reading -8 high and low of -15 in Chicago on Monday.

What an inauspicious beginning for 2014.

(iPhone photo)

This entry was posted in Chicago, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning (2) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. viveka says:

    Bebs, a beautiful … entry.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Viveka. I hope you have a mild winter.

    Like

  5. Pingback: There is always a new beginning | Words 'n Pics...

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning | Stefan Praetorius Naurin

  7. spnphoto says:

    Really lovely pic!

    Like

  8. Amy says:

    That is way too cold…. Beautiful snow images.

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    @ spnphoto: Thank you!

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    @ Amy: Snow is beautiful but it could be deadly.

    Like

  11. Pingback: The Weekly Photo Challenge: Beginning « blogagaini

  12. viveka says:

    Bebs, I want full winter. I want the snow and the chill for a couple of weeks. Mild winter no good .. only wet and grey.
    Winter should be winter .. and spring should be spring. The nature think it is spring already over here. NO good. *smile

    Like

  13. bebs1 says:

    Am already tired of this Winter Viveka and it is just the beginning. Especially that I have to go out there and clean my car before I use it and even not, I still have to because tomorrow will be bitterly cold and the ice will freeze my doors and it would be difficult to remove.

    Like

  14. viveka says:

    I have heard and seen photos about winters in Chicago .. and the wind on top of it. You have to be careful and take good care of yourself.

    Like

  15. Stay warm, and safe.

    Like

  16. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Viveka. Except for a necessary trip to the bank I worked from home today and also tomorrow. It is really bitter cold out there.

    Like

  17. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Dorothy. Working from home tomorrow.

    Like

  18. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with
    my zynga group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really
    appreciate your content. Please let me know.
    Many thanks

    Like

  19. bebs1 says:

    Okay, go ahead although I don’t see the humor in it. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

