Share Your World 2014: Week One

Today I stumbled upon Cee’s new challenge for the year – Share your World. She also does the Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge which I sometimes join.

Maybe I’ve had too much wine or only because it is my birthday, I am going to be less shy sharing my world today. By the way, this will be part of my 365 Project: Day 6.

Our birthday - 2014

Our birthday – 2014

And I share the celebration for today with my late sister, Aurora. She passed away when she was 2 and I was 3 then. She was being raised by my maternal great grandmother and grandaunts and she was visiting us when she contacted pneumonia. I could not forget her face – she was very beautiful and everyone loved her as she was an angel. At least now she’s not alone, my parents can dote on her now in Heaven.

Okay, now to Cee’s questions.

What are some of your favorite type of proteins to eat? (meat, eggs, soy, cheese, nuts).

My favorite proteins are surf and turf. Nothing like a thick, juicy and well marbled steak. And I like it medium rare. But I’d take very fresh seafood first if it is available. You have to understand, I came from the Philippines where we are surrounded by water and fresh seafood is in abundance.

Are you a morning or night person? I am definitely a morning person.

What is your preferred hot drink: coffee, tea, water or other? And as a morning person, I prefer coffee first thing in the morning.

Out of your five senses (touch, taste, sight, smell, hearing) which is your favorite?

This is the hardest question of them all. I love to cook so taste is very important to me. Then comes the aesthetic and smell part of it because if what you cooked is not attractive, it would not appeal to anyone to eat it and it must smell good.

My friend, Viv, cooked pansit (Filipino noodle dish) for my birthday. It is a tradition in our culture to have a noodle dish during our birthday, it means long life. This is something that was passed on to us by the Chinese. And since noodle dishes, particularly pansit, are my favorite, I must have eaten a lot. In the Philippines, there are so many ways of preparing this dish, each person must have their own recipe.

And since we haven’t had pansit for awhile, our stomachs got filled so fast at the first sight of it.

This entry was posted in Chinese, Family, Food, Friendships, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Share Your World 2014: Week One

  1. bebs1 says:

    Thank you both, Photography Journal and NW Frame of Mind. Am getting old!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Share Your World-Wk-0114 | WoollyMuses

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m so pleased that you participated this week in Share Your World. I adore how you honored your sister. Your photo is spectacular. Hopefully, I’ll see you next week!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Cee. I will.

    Like

  5. Robin says:

    Happy Birthday! I love the photo of your pansit and wine. It is interesting learning about cultural foods. I have run across a couple reading bloggers answers to Cee’s questions this week.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Robin. Pansit is everyone’s favorite among Filipinos. If you meet one ask them if they make it and you will most likely get a different recipe each time. Happy New Year!

    Like

  7. Happy, happy birthday!!!!! When do I see you again? Take care always, Lou… =)

    Like

  8. Amy says:

    Happy Birthday, Bebsi! Thank you for sharing your world!

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Welcome back Pinaynewyorker! I got sick again during my Christmas break so I wasn’t able to go anywhere. I’d really want to see NY again. Let me know when you get a chance to come this way. My love to you and Angelo.

    Like

  10. bebs1 says:

    Hi Amy! Thank you so much!

    Like

  11. InlitenLisa says:

    Thank you for sharing. Hope you had a wonderful birthday. And the year just began, keep celebrating! Happy Birthday!

    Like

  12. bebs1 says:

    Thank you for the greeting and for dropping by!

    Like

  13. Belated Happy Birthday to you my friend. Wishing you lots of joy,great health, peace and love. Pansit means long life and of good things to come. We cook that too on our Birthday or pasta. A beautiful Filipino tradition even my Texan 8-year old can fully relate.

    Like

  14. Happy birthday. I hope you had fun?

    Like

  15. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Emenike. Stayed home, it was brutally cold.

    Like

  16. bebs1 says:

    To Island Traveler: I love all kinds of pansit. My Mom used to say you can serve me a big bowl of pansit and I would eat it all. Thank you for the greetings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

