365 Project: Day 11 – Greyhounds

This 365 Project amazes me. It made me realize how filled with surprises our life is on a day-to-day basis.

This morning I thought I’d humor my girlfriend and go with her to her newfound favorite buffet and for sure I would feature what we ate today.

But first we had to go to PetSmart to pick up some food for my cats and also to kill time as we were too early for the day’s special.

Second Saturday of the month is adoption day for dogs at the store and so they had several on display. They were a noisy lot, each maybe begging for someone to give them a good home. My girlfriend asked me to take their pictures but am not too keen on taking pictures of animals in cages. It is so unnatural and confining although maybe that’s the reason why they kept barking.

Am a cat person so I would be the first to admit I don’t know much about canines. But there were about 6 greyhounds with their handlers by the entrance which caught my attention. They look so graceful with their tall and long body and long and narrow head. They had strong and long limbs. All they need is a tutu and they could be like ballerinas so I thought but greyhounds, I found later, are known for their hunting speed.

Some of the dogs there are retired racers at very young ages of 3 and 4 years old and are now ready for adoption. If only I have the capacity and ability to add a dog to my two cats, I would love to have one of this breed. I love their quiet temperament especially when I met Agent, who loved to snuggle even with strangers. He kept brushing his head to my legs and was so tame and domesticated when I tried to pet him.

I’ve always preferred big dogs than the mini ones and the greyhounds are so calm and quiet which suits me well. Although they are the fastest runners, the ladies told me that they are short distance runners which is just like me. And they could be known to be lazy, well that’s me too. I prefer that over a hyperactive dog.

Maybe the time is not right but someday, I would love to take home a greyhound. Besides my cats are very afraid of dogs so adding a dog to their territory would be very cruel.

And yes, we did go for the Polish buffet after that. I could have been contented just playing with Agent and his girlfriend – Jacqui, all afternoon but the cabbage roll and goulash were waiting.

(iPhone photos)

This entry was posted in Friendships, My Core and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 365 Project: Day 11 – Greyhounds

  1. Vivien says:

    awwww, all the dogs are adorable, I was busy checking out a pitbull, he looks so tame in the cage and so cute, when Lou called me to check out the greyhounds, they are beautiful dogs and love to snuggle, Agent was all over me, and so is Jacqui, I want to take all of them home…dog lover that I am. They were happy when I got some treats from the counter and gave each of them. Then, the polish buffet is good, love the potato pancake, thin and crispy, great with apple sauce and sour cream..yummmm

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    I love the greyhounds, they reflect my temperament – lazy, don’t need a lot of exercise, loves lounging with their humans, what more can you ask for.

    For the buffet, I like their baked chicken, potato pancakes and ghoulash. That is reasonable for $7 but not worth $13+ drinks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

