365 Project: Day 17

IMG_0055Okay I am past half of January.

Today my girlfriend asked me to go to lunch with them. We bundled up to go outside, just across our building. I didn’t bring lunch today so I immediately agreed. Besides she was giving us a $5 gift certificate so that pays more than half of our order. Not a bad deal.

I knew my friend is cooking a yummy pork dish tonight and it would call for a lot of rice. So I won’t spoil my appetite for dinner I ordered salad. Besides after all the heavy food from December, a fresh salad tastes wonderful. It does not matter that the day would be perfect for a cup of soup and a sandwich like they ordered, I prefer a well-prepared salad with plenty of garnishes.

I want my salad to have several layers of flavors and textures. Like the Santa Fe Ranch. It has fresh corn, corn chips, white chicken meat, head lettuce, carrots, cheddar cheese, salsa and as the name implies, Ranch dressing. The dinner size order was enough to last me till I got home.

And best of all, guilt-free.

This entry was posted in At the Zoo, Chicago, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 365 Project: Day 17

  1. Vivien says:

    The salad looks so colorful and I bet yummy….

    Like

  2. That is a delicious healthy salad. Have you heard of Salata? It’s a salad place & pretty much a Salad fan dream land. Been trying hard to overcome my holiday relapse of eating rich calorie foods. Today is my day 1 again. Wishing us all a healthier, happier 2014!

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Viv, you know I am not fond of head lettuce but it just goes very well with the other ingredients, refreshing!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Island Traveler, I looked up Salata and they are only in CA and TX. We have Sweet Tomatoes/Soup Plantation which is also like Salata. With so many ingredients to choose from it is hard not to go overboard in a salad bar but easy on the dressing. Let’s eat more fresh fruits and veggies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

