Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Ideally I would like to take a daily photo for my 365 Project and tie it with the challenges that I join but this week’s challenge of juxtaposition is quite difficult to find. If I look hard enough maybe I will find something but it won’t be as good as this one.

Soldier Field

Soldier Field

Seen from behind

Seen from behind

Soldier Field is the oldest NFL stadium. The original structure with the neo-classical columns was built in 1924 and in 1971 became the home of the Chicago Bears.

The original Soldier Field started in 1919 as a memorial to the soldiers of WW I. It sits on a landfill over Lake Michigan.

The new stadium was built in a record of 20 months and opened in 2003. There were a lot of people who didn’t like the design because truly, it looks like a spaceship just landed on the old structure. But now the furor has died down and it has earned its own merits.

See more Juxtaposition photos here.

This entry was posted in Chicago, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

  1. Amy says:

    I’m glad that the stadium has earned its own merits 🙂 Great choice!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Juxtaposition (Chapel) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. viveka says:

    Bebs, brilliant entry – this I have missed … and it’s just below the Shedd Aquarium – I remember seeing it when I visit Sear’s tower – as it was called those days. It was during my first visit to Chicago. On my bucket list for this year now. *smile

    Like

  4. Pingback: WP Photo Challenge : Juxtaposition | Cacophony of Contrasts | 1 Click 1000 Words

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Khana's Web

  6. bebs1 says:

    Amy, football fans love it and there are more space for parking. I don’t know anything about football so I have no idea but they say the view on all sides are good for spectators.

    Like

  7. bebs1 says:

    Maybe there is a show there when you come Viveka. I’ve been there before it was renovated.

    Like

  8. giselzitrone says:

    Schöne Bilder liebe Grüße und eine gute neue Woche.Gruß Gislinde

    Like

  9. bebs1 says:

    Am sorry that I could not respond properly, I don’t understand German. However, I want to thank you for dropping by. Have a great week!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition 2 | Khana's Web

  11. Pingback: Day 14: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Dublin + 1 picture = 365 days!

  12. Pingback: Caged |Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

