D is for diamond

We are now on letter D on Frizztext letter AtoZ Challenge. I had in mind D for donuts as in Dunkin but am not really too crazy about it because of my diabetes.

The opportunity came when WordPress came up with a Challenge for the Week – Object.

This is going to be my Day 32 on my 365 Project.

DSC_0004

This brooch was a gift from my paternal grandfather’s first cousin who passed away. The amazing thing about this gift was she gave it to me before she left this world. She was a spinster and none of her siblings were married so she really didn’t have anybody closer to pass on her belongings. The closest they had was a distant nephew whom they adopted as a young boy.

She was very fond of me and I made sure I visited her everytime I went home on my college breaks. Part of my vacation would b a day spent with them and lunch. She retired as a nurse from the U.S. Clark Air Base in the Philippines and so she had very fine taste. Most of all she was very kind and soft spoken, humble, very much a lady.

When she told me she was giving the brooch to me she told me that she wanted to bequest her most treasured belongings then so people won’t be squabbling over them when she died. She wanted to give them to the people she thinks would appreciate them. I was stunned but I got her point.

I don’t collect jewelries. I wear the same simple earrings day-in-day-out. I figured I could wear fake or fancy jewelries and no one would care. But I keep one of each kind in precious stones that I could wear on special occasions. If there was something I fancied and bought, I would immediately give them away to my sister and nieces if I no longer want them. Better for them to enjoy while I am still alive. But I never buy anything that’s worth a king’s ransom.

It is not so much the object that I was gifted with but the real gift to me was the wisdom of her action.

Thank you Auntie Maring.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to D is for diamond

  1. Gede Prama says:

    visit your blog, read an interesting article. thank you friends for sharing and greetings compassion šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks for dropping by Gede Parma.

    Like

  3. frizztext says:

    you made me smile with “I had in mind D for donuts as in Dunkin but am not really too crazy about it because of my diabetes…” [I have diabetes too]

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    And the all the while I was also thinking D is for Diabetes.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Wow, what a stunning treasure .. and the most beautiful piece of jewelry. This you should wear so often you get a chance … it’s not suppose to be kept in box. You can make a pendant jewelry and have it around you neck … very easy fix and doesn’t cost much to make a jeweler to do it. Use it – enjoy it …

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I probably have used it only twice. No one uses brooches anymore and am always afraid I might lose it as I have lost some of my Mom’s and mine too. Thank you Viveka.

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    I use brooches often – but as you say they are so easy to lose … that is why if I where you I would make it into a pendant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

