Travel Theme: Dry

This is my 35th Day of my 365 Project.

This is also my answer to Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack’s challenge for the week: Dry.

I was thinking it would be a difficult assignment when we are just on the second month of Winter. And while going around the house, I noticed we have some dried flowers that has seen better days many years ago. So then I remember, my friend has some dried Chinese ingredients which her step-daughter, Tess, brought from HongKong about three years ago.

She used the dried ingredients in some mouth-watering Chinese soups but Viv could not remember how she prepared it. We all knew these exotic ingredients were used. I meant to send her a note in Facebook to find out, otherwise they will never be used again.

Can someone out there identify them?

I am familiar with the fungi because we have learned to use them in Filipino cooking.

Drying is the way Asians preserved their food supplies in the past for lack of refrigeration, especially in countries where there are no cold season and therefore always hot and humid.

Using dry ingredients are fairly common in Asia. Westerners might not find them to their liking because of their pungent smell and it takes some getting used to them. But once you get past the smell, you will learn to appreciate the unique flavor they add to a dish.

In fact I will share with you some Filipino staples which you may find in a Filipino pantry.

This entry was posted in Food, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Travel Theme: Dry

  1. Amy says:

    I had some of these in mind, too… 🙂 Great choices!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Amy. Do you keep dried food items too?

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    Wow, what a great view on the challenge subject … dried food. Excellent – and great job with your everyday project too. In the very old days .. most food was dried .. even meat.

    Like

  4. How interesting. Can’t say I recognise any of them. dried tomatoes and mushrooms, dates and figs, cranberries, apricots, raisins, sultanas and currants are what we are familiar with. Apart from that we don’t tend to use many dried ingredients.

    Like

  5. bebs1 says:

    Dorothy, you should see the dried food items in Asia. Truly exotic and different, even for me who’s Asian.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Viveka. I am taking a break from Winter scenes, they are getting to be too much. You must learn those things from culinary school. Hey, weren’t you a chef in HongKong at one point?

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    No, not in Hong Kong … I was working on a cruise liner that had Hong Kong as home port while we did China cruises.
    No I have never gone to culinary school, I did my training at restaurants.

    Like

  8. Pingback: 365 Project: Day 37 – Beef tapa | Taking a Deep Breath

Leave a Reply

