365 Project: Day 44 – Out of Peoria

Oftentimes, you never know how you are going to connect when you meet someone in person. One such person is LH because his reputation preceded him. Not necessarily bad but I was told when I first went on my out-of-town assignment that he would be the go-to person at the client since he’s like the “mayor” at the site.

He was there to meet me from reception and walked me around the huge headquarters of our client, introduced me to people I was supposed to meet, showed me where the bathrooms were (very important), and went to lunch with me. When it was time for dinner, he suggested I go to this Vietnamese restaurant when I told him I wanted to have some pho. Well I already knew where he originally came from and I thought out of respect I told him I liked Vietnamese cuisine.

LH gave me some tips as to the habits of my new boss, he works closely with him. Since he lives there in the area, he’s my eyes and ears at the site while I work virtual with my team. It is mutual though, which is a fair exchange.

Today, he came downtown for some business so I asked my friend Yoly to come with us. Her boss also works at the client and she always calls LH for help. So she was eager to meet him.

We all immediately had some connection because we all have so many things in common. I know this relationship is going to be a good friendship among us as co-workers even though LH is only in the city every couple of months. As for me, I don’t know if I will ever be called back at the client again since we’ve managed to do everything online.

But it is good to know that if I ever visit there again, I won’t feel like a stranger.

This entry was posted in At the Zoo, Chicago, Chinese, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 365 Project: Day 44 – Out of Peoria

  1. Amy says:

    That is a wonderful connection! We certain manage to do everything online… my phone rarely rings. 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    To you too Amy. I know, pretty soon everyone will be working from home except maybe the ones in manufacturing or in healthcare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

