365 Project: Day 45

It was Valentine’s Day at home. Come to think of it, I’ve never had a Valentine date dinner that I could remember in my lifetime. Or I probably did, I bet my date was forgettable if ever there was one. LOL

Sorry for the late post but I did take the pizza photo last night in keeping with my 365 Project. Yes we had pizza while my friend and I watched the Olympics. Although I enjoyed the other features, I was waiting for the finals of the Men’s Figure Skating. But in between I dozed off, was just too sleepy because the night before I went to bed late doing the same thing – trying to watch the short program.

DSC_0001

But the special day was not totally lost or forgotten in our household. My friend, the forever romantic of the two of us, received flowers from one of her admirers. Now that reminds me, I did get a couple of dozen of long-stemmed roses once but I didn’t like the guy so that was it. It is a different feeling though when you have a mutual attraction.

I was just reading an article on one of the magazines, Single and Loving It, written by Marion Winik and she cited some research done by Match.com, that out of 5,000 Americans they studied, 80% of those aged over 50 said they were content with their singlehood.

Although am not one to try any dating online or match.com, count me in as one of the 80%. I guess am not getting any flowers soon or in the future but I have so much distraction in life which I enjoy that I won’t even notice it.

At my age, many of my friends suddenly find themselves single again due to death of their partners or divorce. Unlike when we were younger when we waited for the opposite sex to initiate the move, I noticed they are now more assertive and active in finding a new life partner and very much ready to move on. After many years and their life experiences, I am finding a side of them I never knew before. I admire their open-mindedness and taking matters into their own hands. I guess it takes a different personality, it is just not for me.

For those who are searching, may you find the person you are looking for.

DSC_0004

This entry was posted in My Core. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 365 Project: Day 45

  1. Vivien says:

    Beautiful blog, yummy pizza and lovely valentine flowers. So sweet to remember me on Hearts’ Day..lol

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Oh boy, did he score big time! Am happy for you!

    Like

  3. They say life is too short and at a certain age we could no longer what but pursue what we love, who we love. When I hit 40’s , my eyes opened to new perspectives that once I took for granted. Wonderful post. Best of blessings to you & family.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Thank you Island Traveler. Yes age changes our perspective, we learned what is most important in life and wish to improve or correct our past mistakes.

    Like

  5. lolaWi says:

    wow Viv! so happy for you!

    Like

  6. Vivien says:

    Thanks Wi, I thought that was a very sweet, romantic gesture…hmmm

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    Not a fan of Valentine Day …. We should show our love whenever we have a chance … it’s more important that we show it on a cold rainy Wednesday than go overboard for one day per year.
    Beautiful post, Bebs.

    Like

  8. bebs1 says:

    Yes, everyday! But I guess some people just make it more special on V-Day. Am not a fan either.

    Like

  9. viveka says:

    For me everything with Valentine Day has gone totally overboard. A little sweet note in the jacket pocket would make my day very special. Don’t need flowers and fancy dinners.

    Like

Leave a Reply

