365 Project: Day 49

After the heavy snowfall from yesterday, I welcome the warmth (in the 40s) of today. As an added bonus, the sun was out too. Only disadvantage was the ice are now fast melting and anywhere you go, there’s some water falling over your head from the buildings. And mud too everywhere.

So we decided to go out there for lunch and enjoy the nice weather. Rachel wanted to go to Ruby of Siam and whatever Rachel wants, I know it would be good. She eats out a lot, so have tried a lot of places.

I am a sucker for new places to try. This Thai place is not too far from the one we frequent, Siam Rice, but Rachel said she prefers Ruby as it is a better value. What she meant was for the money you’re paying about $12/plate you can have the buffet.

The buffet selection was very limited although a la carte, they have more variety. However, for the value of one dish, you can be paying for the equivalent of a complete meal with appetizer, soup, main and dessert. Their food was tasty but I think next time I will order from the menu or just go to Siam Rice where an order of my favorite dish is more reasonable.

Quality still trumps over quantity.

This entry was posted in At the Zoo, Chicago, Day-to-day, Food, Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 365 Project: Day 49

  1. Vivien says:

    I remember now, we have been to this place when I was still working. I am not really crazy with the place, tho the décor is nice, I would take Siam Rice any time as opposed to Ruby of Siam, they have better tasting dishes, reasonably priced too. I thought Ruby Siam is pricey for the quality of the food.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    The food was good but pricier than Siam Rice. But the buffet does appeal to some who wants variety in one seating.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    Delicious post, Bebs! You are making me hungry, it’s only 9:30 am 🙂

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh Amy, same here. I could have Thai food anytime. They are so mouth-watering.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    I love Thai food too, we have a great Thai restaurant in Landskrona …. but I never gone Thai under a holiday, maybe it’s about time. Great post, Bebs!!!!

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    For a change Viveka, Thai food is wonderful!

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    And it’s healthy food too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

