365 Project: Day 53 – Ginger tea

Am going to hit three challenges with one journal entry.

For Frizztext AtoZ Challenge: G is for Ginger.

The Dailypost WordPress Weekly Challenge is Threes. I am going to do a three picture story.

Fresh ginger is a quintessential ingredient in Asian dishes. I make sure I am never out of it. It is great in dishes and they also have medicinal value plus it is cheap. If you keep it in the refrigerator in a ziploc bag, it will last longer or you could just leave it out but it will dry out after a week.

Cake and cookie recipes in the West calls for powdered ginger, please note that the fresh tastes differently.

Last night I decided to make ginger tea or in the Philippines we call it salabat. It is great for cold weather or when you are not feeling well, like when you have a cold or stomach ailment.

Mom had a late onset of gout and when it happened, I would make her some ginger tea. I read ginger is effective with gout and in some I read you have to make it to a poultice and apply it to the inflamed joints. I did both as I was desperate to get her well and eventually it would subside but am sure it was also the combined effect of the other remedies we used.

The ginger tea went very well with dinner last night. Hamburger topped with fried eggs and gouda and marinated artichokes on the side. Ginger tea is fragrant but could be spicy hot if you put too much, not so like pepper – it is very soothing, it provided a nice balance to the richness of the sandwich. With some brown sugar or honey, it is wonderful!

I have a problem drinking coffee late in the day as it would keep me awake until late so ginger tea is my best alternative.

Fresh ginger rhizomes

Fresh ginger rhizomes

Cut some ginger, like an inch for two cups of water. Wash the ginger, peel and slice thinly.

Sliced ginger steeped in water

Sliced ginger steeped in water

Put ginger, water and brown sugar in a pot and let it boil. Watch that it does not boil over. Turn off the heat and it is ready to drink. If you want you can squeeze some lemon.

DSC_0007

This entry was posted in Food, Photo Challenge, Remembering Mom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 365 Project: Day 53 – Ginger tea

  1. Amy says:

    We always cook with gingers. I haven’t tried the ginger tea yet.

    Like

  2. I’m a big fan of ginger tea. Lemon is nice and sometimes I add a few drops of maple syrup. 🙂

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Amy, am sure you’ll like it. Try it, especially that you already use ginger regularly in your cooking.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh Lisa, am sure maple syrup goes very well with it. I haven’t tried that – thanks for the idea.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Threes – Third Round | Through the Eye of Bastet

  6. bebs1 says:

    Thank you frizztext!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Threes | Pekalongan International Batik Carnival | ISENGRAPHER™

  8. Bastet says:

    Fantastic idea. I often cook with ginger, but I’d never thought of making tea with it! Great idea and great post!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Threes | Joe's Musings

  10. bebs1 says:

    Am sure you’ll love it Bastet. Tell me what you think later.

    Like

  11. Bastet says:

    Sure will! Got to go and get some fresh ginger from the store though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

