365 Project: Day 66

My boss' trophies

My boss’ trophies

Today I packed my former boss’ office and shipped all his things to his new assignment. We’ve worked together for 30 years. He thought he would come and sort them but as it turned out I ended up packing them in short notice.

Slowly I am transferring the mantle of responsibility to his new assistant. I am very sensitive to it as I know full well how it feels when another assistant won’t let go of their former boss. She’s very capable and and her expertise at the client site would help a lot.

My boss enters a new phase in his career, something he’s wanted so much and a great way to cap his long service to the firm. In a few years, I plan to take my early retirement also. If this opportunity for him didn’t come, I would be hard pressed to stay longer until he exits so in a way it worked out best for both of us.

It is a sad and happy moment and I will surely miss working for him. Not only was he the greatest boss I’ve had, he’s been a tried and tested loyal friend. He’s one of a kind and a blessing.

This entry was posted in Friendships. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 365 Project: Day 66

  1. Amy says:

    30 years… He is going to miss you! I like his trophies šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    He said so Amy and I still do some personal work for him esp. at the school where he’s a chairman of the board and even without saying, I am his assistant’s backup. The trophies are miniatures of products of his accounts.

    Like

  3. viveka says:

    I had the best boss in the world too … but I was the one that left – so I know how you feel. We are still friends and when I visit we always spend some time together! A friendship for life.
    My boss wouldn’t have trophies like yours … he is all down to business – no toy cars in his office.
    I can understand why you love your ex boss .. he have a playful heart and mind.
    I’m know he misses you too. *smile

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Oh my boss remains a simple village boy despite his success. He appreciates every simple thing so he takes pleasure in every little things. Oh I still communicate with him, there’s always some business to deal with in transition and he’s still free to come and go in our Chicago office when he’s in town so I will still see him around Viveka.

    Like

Leave a Reply

