A grasp of Spring

365 Project: Day 69

As promised, here are the photos I took with my iPhone on the Annual Orchid Show at the Chicago Botanic Garden. I am going to supplement these photos with the ones Simply Beautiful posted here. But first, here’s my entry to Sue’s A Word In Your Ear Challenge: Framed. If you want to join and see the rules and more entries, go here.

IMG_1848

Here in the Midwest, we’ve moved our watch an hour ahead and slowly we’re starting to see signs of Spring. The temperature today is in the 40s and almost all the snow has melted. By tomorrow which they forecast will rain, all the ice would have totally melted until the predicted snow storm on Wednesday comes (am keeping my fingers crossed that it won’t).

What I want to see instead are sprouts on the ground from flowering bulbs and buds from the dormant perennials. I can’t wait for the grass to come to life again and see different shades of green. But this weekend we had a break from the Winter doldrums – The Chicago Botanic Garden Annual Orchid Show.

They showcased about 30,000 10,000 orchids from all over the world, all cultivated, not from the wilds. They said orchids bloom all over except in the North Pole. I could not believe that there are five varieties that are native in Illinois which lay to rest the belief that orchids are basically from the tropics. And they were nothing to sneeze at – they are just as beautiful and could hold their own. In fact I’ve seen some of them at the forest floors of The Morton Arboretum.

I thought I’ve seen the most exquisite orchids in the Philippines. They grow wild in the rain forest. But the ones on exhibit bedazzled us. Many left me speechless and took my breath away. They came in various sizes and colors. The minutest ones vied for attention just as well as the larger ones.

The photographers went crazy trying to get a good shot of every cultivars. How can you not? After enduring months of pewter skies, white snow, and the dark palettes of Winter, how can one control oneself in the explosion of colors and beauty of the flowers. In my opinion, orchids are the most delicate and exotic of flowers. Unfortunately I left my camera somewhere or I would have joined the throng of photographers.

With a half-charged iPhone I learned to pick and choose; I certainly regret those I missed because they were no less spectacular than the ones I shot.
Here they are:

This entry was posted in Flowers, Photo Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A grasp of Spring

  1. lolaWi says:

    thanks for taking, B! i had a lot of fun!

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    These are gorgeous orchids! 30,000 varieties… wow!

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    Am glad you enjoyed it. I didn’t know what to expect myself.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I should correct that, it’s 10,000 orchids in all. I liked the variety of colors and shapes Amy. Just breath taking!

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    It’s a beautiful plant … doesn’t matter what colors or shape, wonderful captured here by you.
    And they don’t cost a fortune anymore – so I always have a couple of them, some I can get to get back blooming, but not many.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    That is true Viveka. Many orchids are now cultivated in greenhouses so they don’t cost a fortune anymore. I favor getting orchids for gifts rather than another plant only because their blooms last for a month and if you take care of it,you can have it rebloom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

