365 Project: Day 81 – Diner dining

Saturdays and Sundays are normally reserved for errands, things we don’t have time to do on weekdays. Like groceries and trip for a haircut or pedicure.

My friend and I had an appointment to see my aunt but decided to stop first for lunch at Yia-yia (the term means grandmother in the Greek language). I have never been there although everybody says the food is great and they give you big portions. They serve mostly breakfast but I saw the sign that said they were serving fish tacos.

We live in a place which is predominantly Hispanic and even though it is Greek-owned, they have to serve dishes with Mexican flavor. And if I go to a Mexican restaurant where they serve fish tacos, that is the first thing I would order.

It was a great thing they serve lokoumades instead of a basket of rolls. I haven’t had lokoumades for almost three years since I left the Greek school where I used to work. I also miss the avgolemono, which sometimes has bits of chicken.

The tacos came with rice pilaf which I have been nagging my Greek friend to teach me how to make. The lunch came with three generous servings of taco with grilled tilapia fillet and with in-house Thousand Island dressing.

Yia-Yia is not fine dining but it is good value for the money. If I have a choice between a cheap Chinese buffet and eating in a diner, I would rather eat here where service is fast and the waitresses treats you like you’ve known each other for a long time.

When we arrived there were about 10 parties ahead of us but we got seated very soon enough. Service is quick and they let you eat in peace even though they have a crowd waiting.

I think I would go back there again.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 365 Project: Day 81 – Diner dining

  1. Vivien says:

    Late hubby and I were regular customers for breakfast, we usually have the steak and eggs, with hashbrown, really good, or for brunch, I love their wraps, the Big Papa wrap with steak, veggies, slices avocado is an awesome, filling dish. Our fish taco lunch was good and a lot, I doggie bag the rest of the food and had them for dinner. Yummmmm

    Like

  2. kyangel17 says:

    It’s great to find a place like that where the food and service are both good. I have found a few in my town, but some of my favorites have closed. Makes me want to cry.

    Like

  3. bebs1 says:

    @ Vivien: I could tell you really like the place. I’d love to have some pancakes or waffles next time.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Where we live, there’s a lot of Pop & Mom restaurants as well as chains like Olive Garden, Chilis and this weekend a Chick-Fil-a. The surrounding town/city has more choices for fine dining. However, the tiny ethnic restaurants seems to have survived the recession. I could see people hungering for home cooking and in a working class neighborhood, fancy, expensive fine dining won’t last very long. The neighborhood has changed awhile back and many of the first migrants who settled here are moving elsewhere so there are less European bakeries restaurants around.

    Like

  5. lolaWi says:

    Those tacos look interesting!

    Like

  6. viveka says:

    I love Greek food .. and this look so delicious – great shots of the food, Bebs. And I love Fish Taco’s as well. Long time since I was on a Greece restaurant, you made start craving. *smile

    Like

Leave a Reply

