Travel Theme Challenge: Statues – The Chicago Portage

Ailsa’s challenge for this week is Statues.

I have always wondered what this statue is for. I pass by it everytime I go to 55 to my uncle’s house. Since I needed to take a photo of a statue, I drove there this afternoon.

DSC_0018

DSC_0012

I didn’t realize how important this place is to the city of Chicago. The statue commemorates French explorers Father Marquette and Louis Joliet when they were exploring the area between the Mississippi River and Lake Michigan.

I have always heard of Marquette and Joliet. I only knew them as places not as people although the trips I have taken in downstate Illinois last summer has given me an introduction to them. Today I learned their significant contributions to our history.

If you want to know more about the importance of this monument to the development of Chicago as a major city, read here.

365 Project: Day 87

This entry was posted in Chicago, Photo Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Theme Challenge: Statues – The Chicago Portage

  1. Vivien says:

    Beautiful pics of the statues. Very interesting history of Portage Park. Very good blog.

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thanks Viv. I would not have known that Portage was the birthplace of Chicago. Wow!

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    Very interesting!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    Can you imagine, that’s where Chicago started. I did learn something very important with the history of Chicago after going there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

