Pork eater

The sister, where my niece and her husband are staying, was working late last night so I volunteered to take them to dinner. I heard he wanted some burger so I looked up in the internet where is the best in Chicago. One food blogger said when he asked his staff he got more confused because everyone had their own favorite place.

Well it turned out most of the places they mentioned are in Chicago or north suburbs. I was driving them to the southwest part of town and I found the Country Home Restaurant.

I have been to their Westmont location many years ago and yes, I haven’t forgotten how good my burger was. I didn’t even realize that they are getting a lot of accolades for their specialty. And the good thing was they have a branch in Lisle, close to where my sister lives.

The moment my niece saw that they have barbecue ribs her heart skipped a beat I think. Pork, among many other things that is banned in Saudi Arabia, is totally forbidden in that kingdom. Even her husband agreed that they are missing pork fat – bacon!

Of course, he added bacon to his burger but the expression on my niece’s face at the sight of her slab of ribs was priceless!

365 Project: Day 93

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pork eater

  1. That is one priceless facial expression indeed. Our favorite food and the surprises it brings does make us glow and smile like no other. Those pictures of food made me so hungry and made me wanna smile like your niece. It is Sunday today and it’s family day which means, food day!

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    Enjoy your family day IT, hope you get to savor every meal on this day of rest. Am going to the market to get some more pork for her. LOL

    Like

  3. lolaWi says:

    priceless indeed!

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I guess that is like a Filipino deprived of rice for a long time.

    Like

  5. viveka says:

    Happy and colorful post – I love pork and especially bacon … I wouldn’t be able to live in a country where no pork isn’t allowed. I can image that they where delighted to have some pork.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    Oh they sure were Viveka. So they tried to have some pork everyday.

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    Good for them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

