The shrinking fried chicken

IMG_1958
There was a time, when I first got here in the US, when the cheapest meat you could buy was chicken. That was many years ago but even just 5 years ago, they were still very affordable.

I went to Pop-eye not too long ago as it is my favorite fried chicken place, next to Brown’s but there’s no branch in the area, when I saw my order. The breast was only half the size of what they used to be. Maybe they have taken all the tenderloins that’s why it shrunk.

Last night, I was in the verge of being full and hungry. My body works by the clock. It knows it is dinner time even though I have eaten enough for a week I thought. So my friend and I thought we’d try the newly opened Chic-fil-a.

I was curious. After all the big boss of the company ruffled a lot of feathers when he declared his opinion about LGBA. Apparently he is very conservative. But he has since apologized for it but it did put his company in the forefront of the debate and in my consciousness.

My order was 4 pieces of chicken strips. It was good, juicy and tasty. And it was a good thing that I wasn’t that hungry. Have they suddenly realized the money in splitting the chicken breast? For the sandwich and the strips?

The potato fries, am not too impressed. In fact I hardly ate it. Am a McDonald fries person. That one I could not resist. But my meal was almost ten bucks. I found myself craving and wanting more.

Sure enough, I was famished when I woke up this morning.

Conclusion: Just buy the chicken, not the whole meal. For ten bucks I think I could go to a restaurant and get a proper meal.

365 Project: Day 93

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The shrinking fried chicken

  1. Amy says:

    Ten bucks, really?

    Like

  2. bebs1 says:

    $8.40. The meal came with fries and medium soda. My friend had the wrap meal for $9+.

    Like

  3. kyangel17 says:

    Unbelievable! Buy the chicken and make it yourself. So fast and easy to make at home, and it saves a bundle. For that matter, you can get a $1 chicken sandwich at McDonalds that isn’t too shabby when you are getting the $1 fries with it, and a $1 drink. I don’t go to MickeyD’s very often, but when I do that’s my usual choice and it fills me up without need for a loan from the bank.

    Like

  4. bebs1 says:

    I normally don’t go for fast food but this time, I got curious with Chic-fil-a. The restaurant was full and the drive-in was busy. I guess it is just the novelty of the restaurant. Give it another month. I am tempted to do my own fried chicken kyangel17. Believe me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kyangel17 says:

    I learned to fry it from my mom when I was 10. It’s so easy. And we always fried it in the oven, mainly because there were so many of us and it took 3 chickens. We raised our own, so it was cheep, cheep, cheep. But, that was one of the first things I learned to make.

    Like

  6. bebs1 says:

    I bet your fried chicken tasted really good. That’s how we get our chicken in the Philippines too, home grown and they are tastier – organic. I have baked them in the oven too before, does yours come out crispy? Maybe you ought to share us your recipe. Thanks!

    Like

  7. viveka says:

    I really like a good fried chicken …. but there is a lot of bad ones out there. When I visit Belfast I visit KFC, because we don’t have them in Scandinavia. Great and appetizing image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

